We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful set up - great service !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel

Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel
Kenyatta Avenue & Kimathi Street, Nairobi, Kenya
254202757000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 337 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A small piece of Thailand in Nairobi, Thai Chi has been awarded as the most authentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. With its traditional Thai decor and delectable Thai specialties prepared by experienced chefs from Thailand, Thai Chi is one of Nairobi's most elegant dining establishments.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful set up - great service !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Service was great from the moment we walked through the door ! You have the option of a regular table or Thai sitting, cross legged on the floor ( determined to try this next time of :-) )

The menu is expansive and they clearly indicate which dishes are hot and which ones are not. They discreetly give you time to look it over and appear when you look ready to order. Presentation was great !

A meal averages Kes 2,500 per person excluding drinks.

Points to note;

- Dress code is reinforced. Flip flops, shorts, vests and stuff like that are frowned upon. So dress appropriately. The young ones need to be 12 years old plus to be admitted.

- A bottle of still water will set you back Kes 1,000, i thought that was a wee bit on the higher side.

- The prices on the menu are exclusive of 28% tax, so make a note.

All in all a must try ! Service was spot on. We went in on a Sunday and sort of had the place to ourselves, but i got the impression it would not be compromised on a busy night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Travel_Buff

Thank you for taking the time to review the Thai Chi restaurant.

We appreciate you making a special mention on your experience specifically on the great level of service and presentation. We assure you that the Thai Chi restaurant will maintain these qualities – throughout its operations - both the weekend and weekdays.
The restaurant offers eclectic Thai experiences from the food, the traditional sitting, to the general décor and I am pleased that you found this pleasurable.

At Thai Chi the ambiance, surroundings and service reflect a fine dining culture, hence the age limit and dress code policies which are in line within the restaurants cluster.

Please come again and I hope that you will try the traditional Thai sitting on your next visit.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    55
    19
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Superb Service and Fine Food in a Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I found the service to be the best in Nairobi. The restaurant's decoration was beautiful,and very tasteful. The menu was varied,and the desserts offered were quite imaginative. The food was all very fresh,and well seasoned.It was all very good,but I don't think it was quite as extraordinary as some of the other guests feel it was. We certainly enjoyed our meal,and we will return. However,I've eaten in Thai restaurants where the food was better in the U.S, and elsewhere. I must stress that this is the only Thai restaurant in Nairobi.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear africanman_840,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Thai chi restaurant. We found your review very helpful.

We note your appreciation for décor, service and tasteful Thai food, and your comparison to various restaurants in the US and elsewhere. This puts us on a global scale which is a good thing. We have several local awards and a continental one, where the Thai Embassy in kenya awarded Thai Chi as the most authentic in all of Africa, but now your perspective has introduced an international competitive angle which we strive to achieve; Thank you. You will agree that it is not enough to compete only in Nairobi, but we appreciate your observation that Thai chi is the only one of its kind in Nairobi.

We look forward to more reviews.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The ambience maybe intimidating but it is definitely a place to find good Asian food in Nairobi. The place reminds me of temples in Bangkok adorned with gold.
The food is excellent! For someone who had lived in Bangkok, it is not so authentic but I must say it is the best Asian restaurant in Kenya! And everything on the menu is really tasty!

The service is excellent too! The price is more upmarket than the other hotel restaurant but it’s worth the pennies.

This is often fully booked so it is recommended that you make a reservation before you go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sarova Stanley.

Thank you for your review and for rating us the best Asian restaurant in town.
We appreciate you taking the time to get back to us and hope that you patronize with us again.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Top class Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Menu offer spicy and non spicy dishes: Sea food, chicken, beef and pork. Food is fresh and tasty.
We were group of three and ordered three first courses and three main course for the share.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings.

Thank you for visiting our restaurant.
We appreciate you taking the time to drop us a line.
Please come again

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Food was amazing - absoultely delicious.Pity we didn't stay long enough to try everything on the menu. Staff all good and attentive in lovely surroundings.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chi Restaurant - The Stanley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.