We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh sushi, nice tempura” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ngong Road | Green House, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi, nice tempura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is, I'm told, a historic Japanese restaurant in the Kilimani neighbourhood. It's new setting within the Greenhouse Mall is not the most exciting but the Japanese style decor inside is nicely done and the food is very good. The sushi is very fresh (the chef even showed us the ice boxes in which the fish gets flown in daily from Mombasa) and so is the tempura batter. The bento box dishes are also reccommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lebanon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

the restaurant is owned by Japanese couple who seem ti take a good care of the restaurant.
the sushi is good, i was afraid to eat raw meet at the begging in Nairobi, but i did and there was no side effect.
the chef preparing the tepaniaki are experience one and the food tasted very good.

i highly recommend visiting the place in cace you are in Nairobi

Good luck

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went for dinner at Misono and I found the food to be quite bland.
We had teppanyaki courses which we found horrible
The soup took the trophy for being downright disgusting.

Further, they forced us to squeeze into a teppanyaki table with two other couples in table that sits six people.
So we were supposed to intrude their privacy.
Excuse was that the second teppanyakki chef was away.
That was such a shame.

For the kind of money we paid Misono had better pull those socks up.
Otherwise the ambience is above O.K. but I wouldn't go back there

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Teriyaki in an excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We went there a bit late in a friday night.

We had sent our friends to order the meals as we finished up our drinks at cedars.

Despite the fact that they close by 10 or 11, they waited for us to arrive. I found this very good of them and for that they get an A rating for customer service.

I ate beef Teriyaki while my friends had chicken teriyaki, Sushi and prawn tempura.

The food was a filling and very delicious. Needless to say i ate like there was no tomorrow.

Despite being the only remaining clients, they let us finish the meals without bothering us at all.

The staff were friendly and professional.

The ambiance was good and the restaurant was clean.

I have already recommended Misono to my workmates to try it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Always a great place to eat. I have been coming here for ten years and have never had a bad experience.
Food is fresh, the atmosphere is good and service is quick and friendly

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.