We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ngong Road | Green House, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 338 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went for dinner at Misono and I found the food to be quite bland.
We had teppanyaki courses which we found horrible
The soup took the trophy for being downright disgusting.

Further, they forced us to squeeze into a teppanyaki table with two other couples in table that sits six people.
So we were supposed to intrude their privacy.
Excuse was that the second teppanyakki chef was away.
That was such a shame.

For the kind of money we paid Misono had better pull those socks up.
Otherwise the ambience is above O.K. but I wouldn't go back there

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Teriyaki in an excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We went there a bit late in a friday night.

We had sent our friends to order the meals as we finished up our drinks at cedars.

Despite the fact that they close by 10 or 11, they waited for us to arrive. I found this very good of them and for that they get an A rating for customer service.

I ate beef Teriyaki while my friends had chicken teriyaki, Sushi and prawn tempura.

The food was a filling and very delicious. Needless to say i ate like there was no tomorrow.

Despite being the only remaining clients, they let us finish the meals without bothering us at all.

The staff were friendly and professional.

The ambiance was good and the restaurant was clean.

I have already recommended Misono to my workmates to try it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Always a great place to eat. I have been coming here for ten years and have never had a bad experience.
Food is fresh, the atmosphere is good and service is quick and friendly

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Freshest sushi and crispiest tempura in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Visited 27 April 2014 for lunch. Been here more than 20 times

Miso soup - A1
prawn tempura - A1
assorted sushi and sashimi - A1
Fried gyoza - A1
kimchi - A1
seafood noodles - A2

Owner and Head Chef Song just knows how to maintain excellent standards consistently.

The Korean dishes also worth a try - especially the Bim bim bap.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A little less that it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Still one of the best in Nairobi - but a little less that it was when located on Lenana Road, Just feels different! The menu is the same by the way the food is prepared has changed a little, so has the taste

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.