We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Teriyaki in an excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ngong Road | Green House, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 352 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty Teriyaki in an excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We went there a bit late in a friday night.

We had sent our friends to order the meals as we finished up our drinks at cedars.

Despite the fact that they close by 10 or 11, they waited for us to arrive. I found this very good of them and for that they get an A rating for customer service.

I ate beef Teriyaki while my friends had chicken teriyaki, Sushi and prawn tempura.

The food was a filling and very delicious. Needless to say i ate like there was no tomorrow.

Despite being the only remaining clients, they let us finish the meals without bothering us at all.

The staff were friendly and professional.

The ambiance was good and the restaurant was clean.

I have already recommended Misono to my workmates to try it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Always a great place to eat. I have been coming here for ten years and have never had a bad experience.
Food is fresh, the atmosphere is good and service is quick and friendly

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Freshest sushi and crispiest tempura in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Visited 27 April 2014 for lunch. Been here more than 20 times

Miso soup - A1
prawn tempura - A1
assorted sushi and sashimi - A1
Fried gyoza - A1
kimchi - A1
seafood noodles - A2

Owner and Head Chef Song just knows how to maintain excellent standards consistently.

The Korean dishes also worth a try - especially the Bim bim bap.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little less that it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Still one of the best in Nairobi - but a little less that it was when located on Lenana Road, Just feels different! The menu is the same by the way the food is prepared has changed a little, so has the taste

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Upsetting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I ordered Teriyaki fish and got a big piece of fish without Teriyaki sauce, it was just salt. My friend ordered pork ginger and she got stir fried pork with vegetable without a hint of ginger. It was obvious that the chef does not know the recipe. It was a serious issue to us and extremely upsetting, as we came here to eat Japanese food, and we ordered 'Teriyaki' fish and 'pork ginger', both are very common Japanese dishes available anywhere in Japan and the recipe is very simple. I request the owner to remove these two dishes from the menu until the chef gets the recipe which is available on internet. Please stop deceiving customers.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.