We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Teriyaki in an excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ngong Road | Green House, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 384 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Teriyaki in an excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We went there a bit late in a friday night.

We had sent our friends to order the meals as we finished up our drinks at cedars.

Despite the fact that they close by 10 or 11, they waited for us to arrive. I found this very good of them and for that they get an A rating for customer service.

I ate beef Teriyaki while my friends had chicken teriyaki, Sushi and prawn tempura.

The food was a filling and very delicious. Needless to say i ate like there was no tomorrow.

Despite being the only remaining clients, they let us finish the meals without bothering us at all.

The staff were friendly and professional.

The ambiance was good and the restaurant was clean.

I have already recommended Misono to my workmates to try it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gibson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Always a great place to eat. I have been coming here for ten years and have never had a bad experience.
Food is fresh, the atmosphere is good and service is quick and friendly

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene-van-Laarhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Freshest sushi and crispiest tempura in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Visited 27 April 2014 for lunch. Been here more than 20 times

Miso soup - A1
prawn tempura - A1
assorted sushi and sashimi - A1
Fried gyoza - A1
kimchi - A1
seafood noodles - A2

Owner and Head Chef Song just knows how to maintain excellent standards consistently.

The Korean dishes also worth a try - especially the Bim bim bap.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zippy_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little less that it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Still one of the best in Nairobi - but a little less that it was when located on Lenana Road, Just feels different! The menu is the same by the way the food is prepared has changed a little, so has the taste

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Timor
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Upsetting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I ordered Teriyaki fish and got a big piece of fish without Teriyaki sauce, it was just salt. My friend ordered pork ginger and she got stir fried pork with vegetable without a hint of ginger. It was obvious that the chef does not know the recipe. It was a serious issue to us and extremely upsetting, as we came here to eat Japanese food, and we ordered 'Teriyaki' fish and 'pork ginger', both are very common Japanese dishes available anywhere in Japan and the recipe is very simple. I request the owner to remove these two dishes from the menu until the chef gets the recipe which is available on internet. Please stop deceiving customers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greylourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing