We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ngong Road | Green House, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kisumu, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Always a great place to eat. I have been coming here for ten years and have never had a bad experience.
Food is fresh, the atmosphere is good and service is quick and friendly

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Freshest sushi and crispiest tempura in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Visited 27 April 2014 for lunch. Been here more than 20 times

Miso soup - A1
prawn tempura - A1
assorted sushi and sashimi - A1
Fried gyoza - A1
kimchi - A1
seafood noodles - A2

Owner and Head Chef Song just knows how to maintain excellent standards consistently.

The Korean dishes also worth a try - especially the Bim bim bap.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little less that it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Still one of the best in Nairobi - but a little less that it was when located on Lenana Road, Just feels different! The menu is the same by the way the food is prepared has changed a little, so has the taste

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Upsetting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I ordered Teriyaki fish and got a big piece of fish without Teriyaki sauce, it was just salt. My friend ordered pork ginger and she got stir fried pork with vegetable without a hint of ginger. It was obvious that the chef does not know the recipe. It was a serious issue to us and extremely upsetting, as we came here to eat Japanese food, and we ordered 'Teriyaki' fish and 'pork ginger', both are very common Japanese dishes available anywhere in Japan and the recipe is very simple. I request the owner to remove these two dishes from the menu until the chef gets the recipe which is available on internet. Please stop deceiving customers.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Was excellent, can be terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Only about 2 months ago, after having visited Misono 3 times, I gave it a 5 star score.
You can imagine how disappointed we were last Monday if I rate it as "terrible" now.
Let's start with the basics. The rice. If you like the African ugali (a sort of tasteless, thick polenta-like mash) then perhaps it is a place for you. It came still quite warm and too damp, overcooked and without proper seasoning.
Squid and octopus were so hard to bite that we left half untouched.
Tempura prawn maki, sprinkled with some sort of fruity gravy. Revolting.
And the worst of all - their miso soup. Used to be great, light with a hint of ginger, the best in town. Last time, we were served a thick and heavy meat stock, probably beef, with no trace of miso taste but with jelly-like curd, again - overcooked.
We wanted to ask the staff if the chef has changed but nobody even cared to ask if we were happy, despite us leaving about 20% of what we ordered untouched on the plate.
Yes, they are still cheaper than Haru but disappointment is priceless. For their disaterous food you can pay with any credit card ;)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.