We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New location, same high standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ngong Road | Green House, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“New location, same high standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was a frequent diner at the old Misono restaurant on Lenana Road and now it has moved to the Greenhouse Mall on Ngong Road. The mall itself is unappealing and there was risk the restaurant may have gone down-market, but I ate there recently and found that standards have been maintained and perhaps exceeded. The decor is great and carefully thought out, the staff were very welcoming and friendly, and above all the mixed sushi/sashimi set that I chose was excellent. It was busy (even mid-week) so seems to have stayed deservedly popular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ok place, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

OK place. Sushi was fresh and plenty of choices. Good ambience. Service wasn't great - tends to be crowded and so wait staff is not as attentive. I had to get wait staff attention several times to get a refill of water, or get ice. I ordered a rock shandy and they didn't seem to know how to make it and gave me the "ingredients to mix it".

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This is one of mine and my wife's favourite restaurants in Nairobi the food is consistently delicious. We love the sushi and sashimi. The atmosphere is busy and watching your food being prepared while sipping some wine is extremely relaxing. The staff are very attentive without being intruding at all. We go here about every 6 weeks, drawn back here by the spectacular food, atmosphere and service. Fully recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No as good as the 'other' Japanese restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Misono is most always referred to as 'not as good as the other Japanese restaurant.' That's the long and short of it.

Fursato is popularly regarded as the best Japanese restaurant in Nairobi. Misono is another Japanese restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Place for Japanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had some business guests who wanted original Japanese food. After bringing them to Misono, Chef Song and his team delivered beyond expectations. I loved the tempura (veg and non veg) and they loved the sushi.

I like the interiors though we sat out in the smoking section. Chilly winds, great wine and good food - a good way to spend an evening. If you want any special foods or need any clarification, just ask for Chef Song, he will be able to assist you in all ways. He helped me out with my selections :)

Thanks to the entire team for making it an amazing experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.