We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No as good as the 'other' Japanese restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ngong Road | Green House, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 355 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Nairobi
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No as good as the 'other' Japanese restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Misono is most always referred to as 'not as good as the other Japanese restaurant.' That's the long and short of it.

Fursato is popularly regarded as the best Japanese restaurant in Nairobi. Misono is another Japanese restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Place for Japanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had some business guests who wanted original Japanese food. After bringing them to Misono, Chef Song and his team delivered beyond expectations. I loved the tempura (veg and non veg) and they loved the sushi.

I like the interiors though we sat out in the smoking section. Chilly winds, great wine and good food - a good way to spend an evening. If you want any special foods or need any clarification, just ask for Chef Song, he will be able to assist you in all ways. He helped me out with my selections :)

Thanks to the entire team for making it an amazing experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
“FANTASTIC NEW NAIROBI MISONO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The new Misono Restaurant in Nairobi is very nice, modern and stylish, but still kept the traditional japanese/korean style. After moving the old Misono to the new place in the Green House we have been there for a dinner. The food was as usual very good and healthy and comes in a big variety. I do not know Nairobi so well, but as a visitor from Mombasa, the place was very impressive. But for sure for me the Mombasa Misono is the best Restaurant at the Coast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food! Best japanese restaurant in Nairobi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great service and great food. Thanks Abraham and the team ! The welcoming and awesome ambiance of your new location keep us coming back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Service not great and really expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

As a disclaimer, I've only eaten here once, but the service was really slow and we were brought the wrong order and spent 5 minutes arguing back and forth before they agreed to bring us the correct order. The food was also really expensive and not very good. There are much better sushi places in Nairobi like Sushi Soo or Furusato.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.