We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kept it there.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Misono

Misono
Ngong Road | Green House, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 322 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“kept it there.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Undoubtedly one of the best Japanese food restaurants in Kenya. Misono has been a family favorite for now close to seven years. Having been away for some time, we came back and decided to sample the new restaurant at Greenhouse; We made a booking for late dinner and therefore were among the last customers to be served that night. Unfortunately, it went horribly wrong with two bottles of wine turning up close to acid and being made to feel like we were not expected to bring the issue up and that maybe it was too late to be seated at dinner. The food was great as usual and the small unfortunate occurrence does not stop us from giving another go. Misono is highly recommended for those who love tempura, sushi, sashimi and Tepanyaki.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

each time when I come to Nairobi - one evening is always
booked for this place.
my first visit was 4 years ago and this pace still maintain its standards.
Love the presentation - and the new place is very nice. I like it more than the previous one

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best Sushi in Africa?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our first visit to Misono in its new location, the Greenhouse. Misono has been one of our favourite restaurants in Nairobi for many years. Misono in its new location doesn't disappoint. We thought the sushi and sashimi was even better than before, and is by far and away the best in Nairobi - perhaps even in Africa? The service is, as ever, excellent and friendly. Only one slight niggle is that the tepanyaki is now downstairs, while the sushi area is upstairs, which means that the frying smell from below permeates the upstairs slightly. It's a small complaint about an otherwise perfect meal, and really shouldn't put you off trying this wonderful and fresh sushi!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Nairobi - both food and selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nairobi has no dearth of oriental restaurants, and Misono ranks amongst the highest. The new and revamped restaurant is housed in the "Greenhouse" building on Ngong road, and done with much fanfare - they even sound a gong each time a guest enters. The menu is really extensive, if you were to go through every item, you'd take at least half an hour. Food quality very good, some of the sushi rolls are a bit bizarre (with confetti type shavings of salmon and bright coloured sauces), so stick to the traditional choices on sushi. Ample seating. Great appetizers and definitely try the tataki.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Amazing food, the location is not the best but its not bad. The quality of the food goes hand to hand with the price but its still worth it. To repeat the title: best Japanese in town

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misono also viewed

 

Been to Misono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.