We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Argwings Kodhek Road near Elgeyo Mrakwet junction, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Habesha was my first time having Ethiopian food, so I can't compare it to other Ethiopian restaurants in Nairobi or otherwise, but I really, really enjoyed it. They have outdoor seating as well as indoor. We sat inside and the seating area didn't really feel like a restaurant (also, we were the only ones sitting inside) but the outdoor area looked quite nice.

The food is so incredible and delicious! 2 dishes (about 900ksh each) shared amongst 3 people was just over the perfect amount to make us all very, very full. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    23
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Habesha is the best Ethiopian food I've ever had. I'm a vegetarian, and the combination of their vegetarian plate and shiro is phenomenal, and I take everyone who comes to visit me in Nairobi to Habesha without fail. All of my housemates love the place as well, and it's something we look forward to every week. Great experience overall!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great place to eat. Love Ethiopian food, and the Shiro here is fantastic. Great outdoor seating, excellent place for bigger groups.

Whenever I am in Nairobi, I make a point of eating here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well priced & it's tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I live 5min away from this place, so visit it fairly often. It's got lots of secure parking and the restaurant itself is huge. You have options to sit inside, in small private corners, open areas, sports area (with live football DSTV) and it's all in a pretty lush green surrounding. There are several fire pits on the go (in the evening) and that adds to a lovely atmosphere (as well a keeps you warm)

Food is standard Ethiopian food, not mind blowing! But still tasty and fresh! It's well prices and this is probably the main reason why it's always got a good mixed crowd of expats and locals.

Try the honey wine, around 600/700ksh a bottle and is something you don't get in many places. I love the stuff!!

They have sinks to wash your hands (since you eat with your fingers) and the toilets are clean.

Service is mixed as the waiters mix things up fairly often, so always double check your orders and get your bill 10/20min before you want to leave.

Don't expect the world, but if you're looking for a relaxed restaurant with good food (perfect for sharing) and a great atmosphere, then go here!! Food is well priced and so are the drinks! try that honey wine ;)

Enjoy x

Ohhh... Price? Expect to pay around 500/1000 per person if in a group and you share some food and have a few drinks (beers/honey wine). Mains are around 600/900 and can easily be shared (depending how hungry you are and if its vegetarian or not) Many tasty vegetarian options available for all you non meat eaters!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Ethiopian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had lunch there with coworkers, one of whom is an authentic Ethiopian. Very good food and service, and a bit of an exotic cultural experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habesha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.