We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Ethiopian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Argwings Kodhek Road near Elgeyo Mrakwet junction, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Gambrills, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Ethiopian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had lunch there with coworkers, one of whom is an authentic Ethiopian. Very good food and service, and a bit of an exotic cultural experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    51
    47
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Top notch Ethiopian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very welcoming restaurant with very fast service (a rarity in these parts!) Food was delicious, particularly the mixed dishes if you're overwhelmed by the range of options. Reasonably priced as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have visit this place more than three times but its still not our favorite. The food is ok but not faboulus and the service is can be good sometimes but really bad sometimes - it all depends who comes to your table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing food and wonderful proportions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband is Ethiopian, we live in Mumbai and with the lack of Ethiopian restaurants in our city we are always craving Ethiopian food. Habesha hit the spot for us. The food portions are generous, the food is well prepared and presented and the staff is very helpful. My son loves the food and the staff were always smiling with him. We will definitely visit again when we are in Nairobi.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Yummy Ethiopian cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Definitely worth trying once. Good outdoor sitting facility. Indoors are a bit shabby. The food was very good. Try out the avacado drink at this place!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habesha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.