We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, nice atmosphere and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Argwings Kodhek Road near Elgeyo Mrakwet junction, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice atmosphere and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This cosy restaurant close to the UN Hq was indeed a pleasant surprise. We took the mixed platter of meat and vegetables which was fine for two. The Ethiopian coffee was excellent and served with popped corn. Would definately go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    50
    23
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Maybe I just don't like Ethiopian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Take it with a grain of salt - I'm not so good with foods that are unfamiliar. But I don't like that spongy bread or most of the vegetable dishes (I'm a vegetarian). I do like the atmosphere. :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've eaten here many times and I'm never disappointed. Good selection of tasty dishes in a basic homely setting.
The prices are very reasonable too.

If you're new to Ethiopian try out the platters, there's meat or veg and each comes with a few small servings so you can try them out. Also try the shiro, (ground chick peas with mild spices) It's delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Casual dining & Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The food here is very good and the selection is comprehensive. The wait staff were courteous, but a little on the slow / nonchalant side. Two of us shared the vegetarian platter and a side of Shoori and there was not much left when we stopped. Atmosphere was fine for lunch - not sure how it is at night. Very good juices, too. I will return each time I come to Nairobi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We found this by accident . Great food . Lovely helpful staff . It was an experience to get the mixed meal of seven different dishes all on a huge crepe like pancake . ( dont know the name ) it was enough for two people and only cost 800 shillings . Wine available beers . The potato and carrot dish was superb .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habesha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.