We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Argwings Kodhek Road near Elgeyo Mrakwet junction, Nairobi, Kenya
254203755418
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here many times and I'm never disappointed. Good selection of tasty dishes in a basic homely setting.
The prices are very reasonable too.

If you're new to Ethiopian try out the platters, there's meat or veg and each comes with a few small servings so you can try them out. Also try the shiro, (ground chick peas with mild spices) It's delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lukus_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Casual dining & Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The food here is very good and the selection is comprehensive. The wait staff were courteous, but a little on the slow / nonchalant side. Two of us shared the vegetarian platter and a side of Shoori and there was not much left when we stopped. Atmosphere was fine for lunch - not sure how it is at night. Very good juices, too. I will return each time I come to Nairobi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We found this by accident . Great food . Lovely helpful staff . It was an experience to get the mixed meal of seven different dishes all on a huge crepe like pancake . ( dont know the name ) it was enough for two people and only cost 800 shillings . Wine available beers . The potato and carrot dish was superb .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank compostmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The atmosphere is quaint and relaxing. Authentic. The hospitality is superb. The food is consistently delicious, although the dishes may have a slightly different taste, visit to visit. The food is delivered quickly, as well. I have been there a dozen times in 2013, and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank csdavis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our first time having ethiopian food and what fun! Great spot and enjoyed the food, sharing was fun. Easy to share even with one vegetarian and two non vegetarians. The atmosphere was great and we would recommend as was a great new experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing