We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Ethiopian food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Argwings Kodhek Road near Elgeyo Mrakwet junction, Nairobi, Kenya
Update restaurant details
Ranked #19 of 301 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Ethiopian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Habesha food is very tasty.I love Ethiopian food.Good service and Good atmosphere.price worthy too..I love this place

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    44
    43
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value Tasty Food & Nice Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have been here twice now and will definitely continue to go back during our time in Nairobi. The food is super tasty! The goat tibs and vegetable platter is especially yum. And there is plentiful injera. I love ethipian food generally though - so if you don't want to eat with your hands or share or not eat off the Ethiopian menu maybe this isn't the place for you. Each time we have gone it was under 1000 bob including beer. The staff are efficient and friendly and I love sitting outside in the garden. Overall, a total win!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff but cold average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place has the ambiance and is in a great location. Shame about the cold food. The frontline staff are still offering a great service though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good food, Very BAD OWNER attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Habesha Owner was drunk and loud, mannerless and rude, just because we sat in a table meant for 10 pax and we were only 2 but the place was empty! where we were seated we were the only guests there apart from the owner and his group, we were very uncomfortable because he was shouting at his staff for letting us sit their even though we were just inches apart, if he had any issues he should have requested us to move, that would have been no problem but we felt bad staff were being insulted and shouted at as we watched and heard just because we took the wrong seat! You have a beautiful restaurant but honestly you need to have better etiquette, take good care of your customers and staff too, we were the only guests outside and you made us so uncomfortable. OTHERWISE, Best traditional food we ever tasted as always, service was great as always also, staff were SUPERB, fast and very professional, thank you to all the staff and the CHEFS!! We apologize to the staff that were insulted by the BOSS because of us seating at the wrong place, we are grateful to you all!!!!!!!!! We shall be back again but hope the Big boss will not be in :) otherwise we will do take away as we are doing now coz we are afraid to sit there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening out here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a pleasant evening at Habesha. The food came within 15 minutes and was great Ethiopian food. Some of the reviews seem to be of people who go there and order non-Ethiopian food - not recommended! It can be a bit hard to find it - pass the Yaya centre on the Argwings Kodhek road and look out for a petrol/gas station. You will see the sign on the right after another restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habesha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.