We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Tasty Food & Nice Restuarant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Argwings Kodhek Road near Elgeyo Mrakwet junction, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 330 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Value Tasty Food & Nice Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have been here twice now and will definitely continue to go back during our time in Nairobi. The food is super tasty! The goat tibs and vegetable platter is especially yum. And there is plentiful injera. I love ethipian food generally though - so if you don't want to eat with your hands or share or not eat off the Ethiopian menu maybe this isn't the place for you. Each time we have gone it was under 1000 bob including beer. The staff are efficient and friendly and I love sitting outside in the garden. Overall, a total win!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    56
    23
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but cold average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place has the ambiance and is in a great location. Shame about the cold food. The frontline staff are still offering a great service though.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good food, Very BAD OWNER attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Habesha Owner was drunk and loud, mannerless and rude, just because we sat in a table meant for 10 pax and we were only 2 but the place was empty! where we were seated we were the only guests there apart from the owner and his group, we were very uncomfortable because he was shouting at his staff for letting us sit their even though we were just inches apart, if he had any issues he should have requested us to move, that would have been no problem but we felt bad staff were being insulted and shouted at as we watched and heard just because we took the wrong seat! You have a beautiful restaurant but honestly you need to have better etiquette, take good care of your customers and staff too, we were the only guests outside and you made us so uncomfortable. OTHERWISE, Best traditional food we ever tasted as always, service was great as always also, staff were SUPERB, fast and very professional, thank you to all the staff and the CHEFS!! We apologize to the staff that were insulted by the BOSS because of us seating at the wrong place, we are grateful to you all!!!!!!!!! We shall be back again but hope the Big boss will not be in :) otherwise we will do take away as we are doing now coz we are afraid to sit there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening out here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a pleasant evening at Habesha. The food came within 15 minutes and was great Ethiopian food. Some of the reviews seem to be of people who go there and order non-Ethiopian food - not recommended! It can be a bit hard to find it - pass the Yaya centre on the Argwings Kodhek road and look out for a petrol/gas station. You will see the sign on the right after another restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Never changes... For over 10 years our family has sat around the table sharing great food with friends and family. Worth every shilling! Shiro is our favorite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habesha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.