We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, Very BAD OWNER attitude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Argwings Kodhek Road near Elgeyo Mrakwet junction, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good food, Very BAD OWNER attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Habesha Owner was drunk and loud, mannerless and rude, just because we sat in a table meant for 10 pax and we were only 2 but the place was empty! where we were seated we were the only guests there apart from the owner and his group, we were very uncomfortable because he was shouting at his staff for letting us sit their even though we were just inches apart, if he had any issues he should have requested us to move, that would have been no problem but we felt bad staff were being insulted and shouted at as we watched and heard just because we took the wrong seat! You have a beautiful restaurant but honestly you need to have better etiquette, take good care of your customers and staff too, we were the only guests outside and you made us so uncomfortable. OTHERWISE, Best traditional food we ever tasted as always, service was great as always also, staff were SUPERB, fast and very professional, thank you to all the staff and the CHEFS!! We apologize to the staff that were insulted by the BOSS because of us seating at the wrong place, we are grateful to you all!!!!!!!!! We shall be back again but hope the Big boss will not be in :) otherwise we will do take away as we are doing now coz we are afraid to sit there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    51
    47
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening out here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a pleasant evening at Habesha. The food came within 15 minutes and was great Ethiopian food. Some of the reviews seem to be of people who go there and order non-Ethiopian food - not recommended! It can be a bit hard to find it - pass the Yaya centre on the Argwings Kodhek road and look out for a petrol/gas station. You will see the sign on the right after another restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Never changes... For over 10 years our family has sat around the table sharing great food with friends and family. Worth every shilling! Shiro is our favorite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food is okay, atmosphere is great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love Ethiopian food. It's probably my favorite cuisine. Though tasty, this is definitely the worst Ethiopian food I've ever had. Their dishes are just blander than what I've had in Dar, NYC, Washington DC, Oakland, Jerusalem, and from Ethiopian friends' kitchens (I've never been to Ethiopia.) However, I love the place itself. It is laid out in a network of rooms and courtyards that make it great for both large groups and intimate dinners. And as other reviewers have commented, the price is right.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Every chance I get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the most wonderful place to eat Ethiopian food in Nairobi!!! Service can be a bit slow, but the food is worth the wait.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habesha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.