We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant evening out here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habesha

Habesha
Argwings Kodhek Road near Elgeyo Mrakwet junction, Nairobi, Kenya
254203755418
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 417 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening out here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a pleasant evening at Habesha. The food came within 15 minutes and was great Ethiopian food. Some of the reviews seem to be of people who go there and order non-Ethiopian food - not recommended! It can be a bit hard to find it - pass the Yaya centre on the Argwings Kodhek road and look out for a petrol/gas station. You will see the sign on the right after another restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelttomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Never changes... For over 10 years our family has sat around the table sharing great food with friends and family. Worth every shilling! Shiro is our favorite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NurseMama25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food is okay, atmosphere is great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love Ethiopian food. It's probably my favorite cuisine. Though tasty, this is definitely the worst Ethiopian food I've ever had. Their dishes are just blander than what I've had in Dar, NYC, Washington DC, Oakland, Jerusalem, and from Ethiopian friends' kitchens (I've never been to Ethiopia.) However, I love the place itself. It is laid out in a network of rooms and courtyards that make it great for both large groups and intimate dinners. And as other reviewers have commented, the price is right.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Every chance I get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the most wonderful place to eat Ethiopian food in Nairobi!!! Service can be a bit slow, but the food is worth the wait.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leoma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Habesha - A truly refreshing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A very satisfying evening out in the garden.Informal setting for dinner followed by great coffee "ceremony" by the fire.The staff are friendly and helpful in choosing what to order.One has to visit it to savour the experience and to get a feel of Ethiopian food and culture.The food portions are generous and quite varied.Very reasonably priced too.(review by Kirti n Kim)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KirtiKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habesha also viewed

 

Been to Habesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing