We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Chianti

Osteria del Chianti
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
724277332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Osteria provides the best Italian food in Nairobi. In addition to their stunning chain of restaurants, Osteria also delivers to locations in Nairobi. The launch of Osteria takeaway in the city has received a warm welcome. The Osteria del Chianti restaurant menu is by many considered the best Italian in the region. With the launch of Osteria Warwick in Gigiri this year, Osteria now offers Sushi and Teppanyaki, arguably some of the the best Japanese food in the country. Visit us today for a slice of Italy.
South Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I joined two friends at Osteria del Chianti when visiting Nairobi. Even on a cold night, this crowded restaurant has an open feel. The restaurant has an outdoor seating area, but it was too cold to sit outside that night. The server brought us a bruschetta pizza to nibble on while waiting for our order. The tomatoes were fresh and well seasoned. I ordered the spinach and cheese ravioli in a brown butter and sage sauce. The salt level was much too aggressive for my personal taste (and I like a lot of salt in my pasta water). For dessert, we shared a tiramisu and a chocolate mousse. The tiramisu did not have the depth of flavor that I expect of this dish. It was bland and watery. The chocolate mousse was rich and tasty, but it lacked the silkiness of a traditional mousse. Its consistency was similar to icing and somewhat grainy. In terms of service, our waiter was very nice. However, for what we ordered, the service was extremely slow.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    62
    20
    12
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gottingen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Is this a joke?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

During a previous stay in Nairobi, 2 years ago, I had heard quite a bit about Osteria, and during my latest trip - having read more negative reviews than new positive ones - I had been in doubt as to whether to pay a visit. Well... pay I certainly did, as the place is priced out of proportion.
The service is sloppy and evidently lacking any kind of motivation. Having personally seen the unpleasant owner scold a couple of servers publicly and in a humiliating way, it does not take a leap of imagination to understand why.
Our orders (not pizzas, which apparently were remarkably quicker) were late and partly wrong. The manager tried to blame the obvious misunderstanding on us, which is an outrageous attitude for any hospitality establishment worthy of that name.
In a evening that was clearly devoted to learning some lesson, we also made the mistake of ordering a bottle of wine: substandard, and again grossly overpriced.
However, what takes the cherry, was the glimpse I had of a little rat scuttling from under one cupboard to a different area of the dining room. We later learnt from another couple of dissatisfied guests that it's something of a "house pet"... is this a joke?
Never again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Back after 5 years and...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

... definitively the standard has gone down. Nice waiter, but with not much knowledge. For the Dry Martini he suggested black olives as they were out of green ones....The house white wine - he wasnt sure what it was.
Food was ok, not fantastic, not bad. But of course the grilled salmon would have been better if the fishbones had been removed in the kitchen and not by me at the table..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Not Worthy of Free Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The food was very bland. We had ordered 2 Penne Osteria and a Margheritta Pizza, the portions were relatively small. There was no seasoning, there was no flavour.

We were also over charged on drinks, extras, that we had not consumed. Only realised that after we had left the restaurant.

The restaurant was busy and the service was seriously lacking, and had to repeatedly request for someone to attend to us.

Its shameful, that we should pay a premium, for food and drinks, whilst the standards are very poor. Not to mention getting short shifted on portion sizes, taste, service and getting robbed off for getting charged for things not consumed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Sorry Excuse for Italian Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Ribollita had no bread (it's the main ingredient)
The focaccia had no salt
The lamb chops were basically raw.
The chicken pate was ok but nothing to write home about.
The asparagus chicken was bland, had never seen an asparagus not even in a previous life and promptly tipped the balance form "delicate" to "super bland".
The "Chianti" wine tasted like vinegar

To add insult to injury the prices on the menu did not include VAT or service. So when you get the bill it's far higher than you would have calculated. 3500KES per person for such a mediocre meal? Daylight robbery if you ask me.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Chianti also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.