We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so! ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Chianti

Osteria del Chianti
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
724277332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 383 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Osteria provides the best Italian food in Nairobi. In addition to their stunning chain of restaurants, Osteria also delivers to locations in Nairobi. The launch of Osteria takeaway in the city has received a warm welcome. The Osteria del Chianti restaurant menu is by many considered the best Italian in the region. With the launch of Osteria Warwick in Gigiri this year, Osteria now offers Sushi and Teppanyaki, arguably some of the the best Japanese food in the country. Visit us today for a slice of Italy.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So so! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

On business in Nairobi and was taken to Osteria. Stunning outside area, lovely atmosphere, bur I was disappointed with the food. Had the special artichoke red snapper fish dish, and it was totally under seasoned and over cooked. Friends did enjoy their pizzas though.

The gelato icecream shoppy was brilliant, especially the pastashio!

Helpful?
Thank ElizevN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Osteria is off the list..Bad food and incompetent askaris!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A few friends were at this restaurant for a birthday dinner last night (03/10/2013). All was ok whilst having dinner etc..or so we thought! This morning one of us has severe food poisoning - and he ate fish! So definitely not going back there!
When we arrived some of us were made to park outside as the inside parking was full! But of course there were askari's looking after cars etc so we didn't think much of it.
Only to find out when we got home last night, that my spare tyre from my RAV 4 was stolen - all with the cap etc! So what job were the askari's doing? Helping the thieves?? Do not park the car outside and more so don't go there!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxychandaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great garden atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Good food, relaxed professional atmosphere; traditional hang-out for expats, NGO - and UN- aid junkies. Garden seating with parasols, clay ovens and wood fires to keep up the temperature (and the wildfire smells). Extensive menu, not enough accessible wines though...European prices. Efficient service, good hostmanship and an overall continental Italian 'feel' to it. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chalky_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Been to this restaurant several times and each time it is a hit. The food is excellent and fresh and the staff is friendly, warm and welcoming. Always a sure bet for good food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Turgoik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Never order take out from this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My colleague and I ordered a take out from Osteria CBD around 12.30 p.m today. We were advised that the delivery would take 10 minutes. Given that it's now coming to 4.30 p.m., it has now been 4 hours (a new record for delayed delivery) and we've all but given up. During this time, we called the restaurant to inquire about our order and on several occasions they hang up the phone on us, told us that we could not speak to the Manager unless we spoke Italian, that the delivery man had gone to Upper Hill and was stuck in traffic, that the delivery had come to our offices and couldn't contact us. All in all, a stressful and disappointing experience. We shall never order from this place again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Chianti also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Osteria del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing