We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great garden atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Chianti

Osteria del Chianti
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
724277332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 346 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Osteria provides the best Italian food in Nairobi. In addition to their stunning chain of restaurants, Osteria also delivers to locations in Nairobi. The launch of Osteria takeaway in the city has received a warm welcome. The Osteria del Chianti restaurant menu is by many considered the best Italian in the region. With the launch of Osteria Warwick in Gigiri this year, Osteria now offers Sushi and Teppanyaki, arguably some of the the best Japanese food in the country. Visit us today for a slice of Italy.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great garden atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Good food, relaxed professional atmosphere; traditional hang-out for expats, NGO - and UN- aid junkies. Garden seating with parasols, clay ovens and wood fires to keep up the temperature (and the wildfire smells). Extensive menu, not enough accessible wines though...European prices. Efficient service, good hostmanship and an overall continental Italian 'feel' to it. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    65
    22
    12
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Been to this restaurant several times and each time it is a hit. The food is excellent and fresh and the staff is friendly, warm and welcoming. Always a sure bet for good food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Never order take out from this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My colleague and I ordered a take out from Osteria CBD around 12.30 p.m today. We were advised that the delivery would take 10 minutes. Given that it's now coming to 4.30 p.m., it has now been 4 hours (a new record for delayed delivery) and we've all but given up. During this time, we called the restaurant to inquire about our order and on several occasions they hang up the phone on us, told us that we could not speak to the Manager unless we spoke Italian, that the delivery man had gone to Upper Hill and was stuck in traffic, that the delivery had come to our offices and couldn't contact us. All in all, a stressful and disappointing experience. We shall never order from this place again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by a friend who has eaten here at lunch time on several occasions. We decided to go for dinner and we did not have to book a table because it was reasonably early. It started to fill up after 10 pm. There was a band which was playing light jazzy music with an occasional song. The attention was swift after we had to call for service because we were sitting behind the fire place which is a bit tucked away. My friend had lamb and I had red snapper with glasses of wine, although there was a wide variety of Italian dishes available. We were able to relax and converse in a very pleasant atmosphere. A taxi was available to take me home, from just outside the gate and summoned by one of the waitresses. Value for money and I would come again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good idea, terribly implemented !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you fancy italian food just go somewhere else, except for pizza which is acceptable. I asked for a very simple pasta "al dente" and it was horribly overcooked and cold!! To make things worse, it's not cheap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Chianti also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.