We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuesday night is band night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Chianti

Osteria del Chianti
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
724277332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Osteria provides the best Italian food in Nairobi. In addition to their stunning chain of restaurants, Osteria also delivers to locations in Nairobi. The launch of Osteria takeaway in the city has received a warm welcome. The Osteria del Chianti restaurant menu is by many considered the best Italian in the region. With the launch of Osteria Warwick in Gigiri this year, Osteria now offers Sushi and Teppanyaki, arguably some of the the best Japanese food in the country. Visit us today for a slice of Italy.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tuesday night is band night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you are the type who wants throbbing heavy beat so loud that you can't hear yourself think then this is not the place for you. On the other hand, if you are the type, like me who enjoys talking to their companion(s) without shrieking and shouting, while having one of the old standard songs pleasantly murmured in the background, the outside area is spot on. I was there with my friend on a cold (well cold for Nairobi) Tuesday evening when it was good to be beside a chiminea (one of those portable outdoor fireplaces) full of charcoal or whatever. Music was great, wonderful big Malindi prawns were very good, if expensive (and why wouldn't they be?); the Malindi fish was good. the service was very attentive, unlike what other reviewers have found. I will definitely be going back soon. I see that it is only ranked about 58th - well I would sure like to know the names of the first 57!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    37
    49
    17
    9
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience with very friendly Italian patrons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant (the one in Lenana Road) is one of my favourite Nairobi restaurants. It has a lovely ambience and it is a delight to be given a cheerful, friendly welcome by the Italian patrons. The fish (e.g. snapper or tuna) and seafood (lobster or crab) is nearly always excellent, but on the rare occasions I have eaten meat there, it has tended to be on the tough side and to lack flavour. The vegetables though are inclined to be undercooked for my taste. To counteract that, I nearly always order spinach, which is usually very good. As one would expect in an Italian restaurant, the pasta dishes are both substantial and tasty, By the way, be wary of ordering a starter, because you will invariably be served with a complimentary dish of chopped tomatoes on pita bread, which is quite filling. I am not a frequent consumer of desserts, but on the rare occasions I have eaten a dessert there, I found the tiramisu very good.

The service is generally good but at times can be a bit slow. If there is one criticism I have about the restaurant it, is its wine. The wine sold by the glass, although reasonably priced. is not great; and the wine sold by the bottle is very expensive compared with that sold in other Nairobi restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely addiction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Every so often I make a point of visiting Osteria - and it never disappoints. This time round I tried out their lamb chops and much as they did not look as attractive, they definitely put a stop to all the conversation round the table! Simply heavenly! It may be a messy eat as one has to dig in with their hands but heh, its worth every bite!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

They promised a lot more than they delivered. The wine selection was semi great. I generally think that the super duper experience they promised wasnt delivered. The food was at best good and the staff wasnt all that great. It is however very expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing food, wanting service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Met up with three friends for lunch on a Thursday. The place was pretty full for a weekday, which must say something about their food! I loved that the menu offered many options.The waitress wasn't very helpful though as she seemed more concered about taking the orders, and wasn't very interactive. She was pretty much just going through the motions. Service was fast. The food was lovely. I did not like that our glasses kept being cleared off the table without us being asked if we needed a refill. Come to think of it, during the meal the condiments were unceremoniously taken to another table without us being asked if we were done with them. The seats could be a bit more comfortable but one soon forgets when the food comes. I will definitely be back for the food and hopefully get more enthusiastic service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Chianti also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.