We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely addiction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Chianti

Osteria del Chianti
Lenana Road, Nairobi, Kenya
724277332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Osteria provides the best Italian food in Nairobi. In addition to their stunning chain of restaurants, Osteria also delivers to locations in Nairobi. The launch of Osteria takeaway in the city has received a warm welcome. The Osteria del Chianti restaurant menu is by many considered the best Italian in the region. With the launch of Osteria Warwick in Gigiri this year, Osteria now offers Sushi and Teppanyaki, arguably some of the the best Japanese food in the country. Visit us today for a slice of Italy.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely addiction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Every so often I make a point of visiting Osteria - and it never disappoints. This time round I tried out their lamb chops and much as they did not look as attractive, they definitely put a stop to all the conversation round the table! Simply heavenly! It may be a messy eat as one has to dig in with their hands but heh, its worth every bite!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    37
    50
    17
    9
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

They promised a lot more than they delivered. The wine selection was semi great. I generally think that the super duper experience they promised wasnt delivered. The food was at best good and the staff wasnt all that great. It is however very expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing food, wanting service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Met up with three friends for lunch on a Thursday. The place was pretty full for a weekday, which must say something about their food! I loved that the menu offered many options.The waitress wasn't very helpful though as she seemed more concered about taking the orders, and wasn't very interactive. She was pretty much just going through the motions. Service was fast. The food was lovely. I did not like that our glasses kept being cleared off the table without us being asked if we needed a refill. Come to think of it, during the meal the condiments were unceremoniously taken to another table without us being asked if we were done with them. The seats could be a bit more comfortable but one soon forgets when the food comes. I will definitely be back for the food and hopefully get more enthusiastic service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Real Italian food in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Good food relaxing homely atmosphere. Authentic food. Must visit for Italian food lover. Excellent service. Cozy place. Good for family and business lunch or dinner. Value for money. Good collection of wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Underwhelming and over-priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I guess this place charges what it does because most of the clientele are expats on expat salaries. Admittedly we have only had the pizzas and salads, but how wrong can you really go with those, and even then they were distinctly below par. The Greek salad? limp lettuce, measley portions, it just does not look fresh, and the pizzas are stodgy with toppings that are mainly cheese and not too much else. If it were not for the fact its near my office I would not be back at all, but I will probably end up there again just because of where it is... unimpressed, however. Staff seemed friendly enough, I have to say...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Chianti also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.