We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Njugunas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Njugunas
waiyaki Way, Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Local Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had the best time here. The nyama choma (grilled goat) was simply delicious. The Tuskers were extra cold and a perfect pair for the charred meat. The people and staff were a lot of fun. I went with friends and we had a great time laughing and talking politics

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nyama Choma.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have had takeaway Nyama Choma from here a couple of times and am not enough of an expert to compare it to much else. It was meaty - and chewy. I think that means it was just right. Popular and busy place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nyama choma place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Njuguna's is a land mark for nyama choma lovers in Nairobi, being right on the Highway with a very informal setting, the meat is always tasty, been these way for years. I returned after a long time and sure enough the same service

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, basic settings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had lunch with a few friends who wanted no fuss experience. The place specializes in grilled meat 'choma' as it is known in Nairobi! They also do boiled or fried meat and we had the latter, It was soft and full of flavor. If are pressed for time do call in advance & place your order!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pretty good nyama choma”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went here with work at lunch time on a Friday. If you go on the weekend, try to book your meat, otherwise you could be waiting a while, depending on how many there are of you. There were 8 of us and we got 5kg of goat (has to be goat), we got 4kg of ribs and 1kg of shoulder (I think), and it was enough. We sat inside on some leather seats - looked like all other seats were bar stools style. While parking is available, during busy times don't be surprised to see cars blocking you in - just ask for staff to help locate the driver(s) to let you out. Generally a nice atmosphere, although it was for lunch and not evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Njugunas also viewed

 

Been to Njugunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Njugunas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.