We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mukutan Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mukutan Retreat
Save
You added Mukutan Retreat to your Saves list
PO Box 63704 / Laikipia Plateau, Nairobi 00619, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Out of this World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Outrageously spoiling, incredibly relaxing, with a view to die for - the Mukutan will steal your soul, and give it back to you enriched with the beauty of this place. We spent our days fishing on the dam - elephant and buffalo drinking from the shore, stunning walking safaris, picnics, then back in the evening to a hot bath in front of a roaring fire, the perfect gin and tonic, the moon rising over the gorge. Delicious suppers. Impeccable service. Unbeatable location. This place is heaven.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Makena's Hills followed by 1 at the Mukutan Retreat, with Sveva Gallmann, the owner's daughter.

The two lodges make an excellent pair. Makena has a majestic view over the bush and the Rift Valley; Mukutan is more intimate, nestled at the end of a steep and heavily wooded valley.

The quality of the food and service was outstanding. The menu is based on Italian cuisine, to match Kuki Gallmann's background.

The accommodation is beautiful: large, separate huts each with an open fire that crackles as you go to sleep.

There is no pool (although there is a plan for plunge pools for each room) but there is a natural hot spring in the valley below. It takes around 15 minutes via an amazing jungle walk.

Room Tip: As others have written, it is best to book for several nights and to combine staying here with a sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Prince Bernhard (of the Netherlands) was there many times but kept it a secret. These " royally" equiped Mukutan lodges are paradise on earth, not in the least because of the remarkable story of the life of mrs Gallmann who wrote the famous book " I dreamed of Africa", but also because of the fabulous nature, the spectacular views AND the absolutely delicious food. The great care of the personal, with managers Kyle and Lara made this magical experience complete. So don't tell anyone about this hidden paradise....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Mukutan Retreat is hard to describe as it's absolutely stunning. We were extremely overwelmed by the beautiful unspoiled nature, the design of the lodges and the dedication of all staff. Its exclusivity is something we had never experienced and afraid we will never experience again anywhere else. Something we have to mention is the knowledge and the personal touch of our guides, enthusiastic at all times. e.g. Just after dinner we heard lions and before we knew we were driving in the middle of the night to find and watch three beautiful big male lions. One wish of the whole family is to come back again! A definite recommendation. The most beautiful place on earth.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Such an amazing place to visit and stay. Stunning and beautiful views of the Mukutan gorge from the lodge. Views that can't be beaten!! We also loved sundowners overlooking Lake Baringo and the mountains to the north.
Staff were excellent and provided in room dining as a birthday treat.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Mukutan and I have to say it was one of the most memorable experiences we have ever had. We arrived rather late on the first night and drove in the dark to the conservancy centre. There, we were met by a guide who escorted us to Mukutan which was about a 20 minute drive. On the way, we came across a herd of buffalo and stopped to watch them watching us. Pure magic. We got to Mukutan and were immediately charmed by the place. Our rooms had what is surely the best bed in the business, a most romantic stone hewn bath, and a huge fireplace in the middle of the room. A fireplace in the middle!

The next morning, we had breakfast on a cliff edge facing the gorge and nothing could ever beat that view of the three hills with miles and miles of forest. We then were quite fortunate to have a guide take us on a walk through the forest which was capped by a swim in some hot springs deep in the woods. Later that evening, the rain came down heavily and we sat in the common dining area with our coffee and the world's best home made cookies (the coffee was amazing but not world's best). The dining area has open air panoramic views of the hills and as we sat there, we saw a herd of elephants in the hills frolicking in the rain. Actually, do elephants frolick or am I thinking of mermaids? Anyway, I'll settle on the elephants frolicking.

I could sit here and write forever about how amazing I found this place. But I will just say for now that it is my absolute favourite destination in the world and you would be very lucky to visit it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We felt there should have been more advance notice to the guests that once one arrives at the "reception office", which is a 45 minute drive on a poor road from the conservancy gate, one must transfer to one of the Lodges' 4 wheel drives for another 40 minute drive on very poor roads. We did it in the rain, and there were no sides or canvas roll-downs to protect us from the rain. We arrived to our accommodation soaked and then had to dry off and change before we had lunch which by this time was 3:20 pm (and we had arrived at the reception area at noon in order to have the full afternoon there. We had to wait over 1 hour to be transported in their vehicle to the "retreat". Once there, it was amazing...increadible scenery, with 3 huts perched over the gorge. Open air rooms, bathrooms and eating area....was nicely decorated and appealing in every way - though be careful, the stone floors in the bathrooms are treacherous with wet feet. We had a wonderful drive to Kiki's Lookout, about 45 mins. from our lodging, for sundowners - that was memorable, watching the sun set over Lake Baringo. One other disappointment was that we had wanted to meet Kuki Gallmann. We had been told she would come to meet us while we waited for our transport to the accommodation. She never arrived. Then we were told we would meet her the next day....we never did. She was there, and was busy with the upcoming Highland Games, but we were the only guests and it would have been nice if she had made the effort to meet us. One other point....you should arrange to stay for more than 1 night. Had we known how long it would take to get to the location, and then to wait around for our transport to Mukutan Retreat, it would have been helpful if they had recommended that we stay a minimum of 2 nights. It was a great experience, but there are a few things they can work on.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sveva G, Owner at Mukutan Retreat, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank You for your review and your compliments. Yes, part of the magic of the Mukutan Retreat is that it is one of the wildest and most private places on earth, so getting here in rainy season can be a little challenging. That said, in 2010 we had unusually heavy rains, we have do from Nairobi we would certainly recommend a minimum stay of 2, ideally 3 nights. Many Guests want to meet Kuki Gallmann. She is exceptionally busy running many, many projects and often in very remote parts of the conservancy but usually if we have advance notice that guests are interested to meet her she will make special arrangements to be able to do so and will often come to the Mukutan Retreat for lunch or dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mukutan Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mukutan Retreat

Address: PO Box 63704 / Laikipia Plateau, Nairobi 00619, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mukutan Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.