We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice for budget travellers who seek for a minimum of comfort in central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terminal Hotel

Terminal Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terminal Hotel
Save Saved
You added Terminal Hotel to your Saves list
Mama Ngina Street, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Paris
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“good choice for budget travellers who seek for a minimum of comfort in central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

The Terminal Hotel is a great choice for people that want a minimum of comfort in a central location. Rooms have their own bath and are generally clean, with few cockroaches only. It is also a very calm loaction - as long as you request a quiet room that does not neighbour the noisy street or the nearby night club.
The nice concierge might help you find reasonably priced safaris, excursions and overland buses - e.g. a minibus transfer to Arusha for 1300Sh (western tourists are often paying the double). If you are a single male staying in the hotel, you should be aware of the many young women that will try to make friends with you on the street and in the bars next to the hotel, and will turn out to be prostitutes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
12
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Warm and friendly staff always happy to comply with requests, close to banks, shops, restaurants. Old rooms, reasonably clean. Had a few bed bugs otherwise ok.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I stayed at the Terminal Hotel for 3 nights in July. Now mind you, I was backpacking with 2 other friends who I was meeting with in Kenya. I was not traveling with a spouse, I did not have high expecatations of this hotel. It was cheap, in a good location, safe and clean. I never encountered any problems with bugs. Every bed comes with a mosquito net, but I never saw any mosquitos... not to say there weren't any. The rooms were basic, clean and decent. We did have a couple problems with the hot water, but I think we had the same problem in most low budget hotels in Africa.

Overall I would say the Terminal Hotel is perfect if you don't have high expectations. Its perfect for a backpacker, or solo travelers, but I would not recommend it for couples or anyone with "higher" standards. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

My wife and I booked to stay at the terminal for our last two days at Nairobi. Rooms were large and bright with clean sheets and towels. Everything was good, until the night came.. The party from the backyard of the restaurant downstairs started getting louder and louder. With tables filled with drinks, it didn’t look like it’s going to finish soon... and it didn’t. It lasted tell 3 am. Managed to have a short sleep until 5 am when the building site vehicles dropping its loads, starting an extremely, unbearably loud, squeaky, scratchy building site noises. About 3 meters away from our window (room 116). The staff assured (lied to) us when we checked in that its weekend and the building site is closed, or they start at 8am if any.

7 am walked to the next door Downtown hotel, booked a room and came back to pack and leave, after a long, sleepless night, cockroach were crawling all over my rucksack and I had to check my clothing one by one to ensure none of them stayed with us.

In the way out, I complained to the suited “gentleman” on reception about the horrible night my wife and I had, he had nothing to offer other than a smirk and a far-from-sincere “sorry, sorry”. The theme was “if you don’t like it, there will be hundreds of others” “we are recommended by Lonely Planet and don’t care about you”.

We moved to the Downtown and it was a world apart, very quiet, smaller room but clean without any crawlies and most importantly, polite and helpful staff appreciating your business and keen to please.

I would strongly advice not to stay at the terminal until they sort their careless attitude problem out. Being recommended by few guide books seems to get them relaxed (very) about the service they ought to offer. Clowny guys (not sure what they do) hanging around the place, management that doesn’t care about you (as long as you pay and leave), cockroachs, building site and party. If you enjoy that, then the terminal is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Near the airport, across the street from a mall, around the corner from a Western Union and a Chinese restaurant.
Basic room with clean sheets, one towel and sometimes hot water.
Not bad.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I searched extensively before my trip for a reasonably priced (<$100) place to stay in Nairobi for my last night in Kenya. I didn't want to spend much as I had to leave for the airport at 5am the following morning anyway. I found unlike Johannesburg, there is not much depth in accomodation in Nairobi and it is mostly expensive.

Whilst in Nairobi, however, a driver informed me of this hotel and it was the perfect place for a cheap one night's stay. It's well priced at ~26 USD for a single ensuite room per night. Nearby appears to be a karaoke bar as I could hear singing (quality of varying degrees!) for a good portion of the night but for the price of the room one can't complain. Across the road is a 24 hour shopping mall with a supermarket, ATM and eateries. As this hotel is right downtown, it is easy to walk around the city. I read Nairobi was very unsafe to walk around but I found it to be fine during the day, even by myself. Just be aware (if you need to change money/currency) that all banks and foreign exchange bureaus in Nairobi close from 1pm on Saturdays and do not open at all on Sundays.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

The Terminal is a budget hotel in the centre of Nairobi, just a few minutes walk from Kenyatta Avenue. Rooms are large and bright and the beds (with mosquito nets) are quite comfortable. Drinking water & glasses, loo roll, soap and towels are provided and there is hot water in the early evening.

Breakfast is not provided, but there is a bar and cafe right next door and a pleasant open air restaurant opposite at the Nakumatt Lifestyle shopping centre.

The hotel is a convenient place to stay if you need to spend a night or two in Nairobi, nothing fancy, but good value at 1900 ksh for a double room with bathroom.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terminal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terminal Hotel

Address: Mama Ngina Street, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terminal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.