We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprises” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terminal Hotel

Terminal Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terminal Hotel
Save
You added Terminal Hotel to your Saves list
Mama Ngina Street, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Bursa, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprises”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Well actually I cannot say I paid to stay here; since we just had a stopover before going on to a safari. For that reason I do not have a clue about the price and the convenience of its location; but I could say it could have looked much cleaner. Everything was in order and furniture and so on were all where they needed to be. But it just. Looked. Old. Like very. Since we arrived in the dead of the night we saw some people sleeping in and around the lobby with make-shift sleeping areas. That sure was a surprise. Again, I want to mention though, for the price you pay, what you get from the hotel could be just great!

After our stopover at this place, we went onto a safari with Terminal Tours and that was a trip of a lifetime! Well worth what we paid for, all our needs answered with a well-organized itinerary.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
12
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Good location in the centre of Nairobi and cheap! The twin rooms are spacious and they are reasonably clean. However the hotel is quite rundown, managed to get 1 hot shower over the week we were there, the shower drainage was often blocked and the toilet would quite often refuse to flush. In some rooms there were lockable cupboards in which we could put our whole backpacks in which is pretty good. The wifi works the best in 3rd floor, although at times (not too often) it can also be a bit flakey. Being in the centre of Nairobi, it can be really noisy in the evenings so earplugs wouldn't go amiss. So overall, not too bad but for a nominal KSH100 more you can go a couple of doors down to Downtown Hotel which was generally nicer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Terminal Hotel is a good value for downtown Nairobi. We stayed there a few nights while traveling through the country and never had a problem. The rooms are simple and basic, the furniture is not overly pretty but the rooms are clean and the water is hot, for the price you can't ask for more. The location is pretty good (and safe), a mall with a supermarket across the street, lot's of restaurants and banks around. The staff was very nice, helpful and reliable. We always left our valuables in the room and never had an issue (Generally I guess it is better though to leave it with them at the reception). They also watched our backpacks one day and organized a taxi in the very early morning back to the airport. We were happy with the overall experience and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Terminal in Nairobi and had a wonderful 3 days safari in Masai Mara. Everything was perfect and the package was exactly as described by Nelson. I want to underline this because Andrea and I weren't so sure when we bought the package for a very good price the day before. We want also to add that Steve Onduto has been the best driver/ guide we could have found! Thank you everybody...
Nelson, sorry if we didn't trust you at the beginning... do you remember us from Italy? I think you do!! Ciao, Anna & Andrea

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here on three separate occasions and felt that the central location and honest staff gave us a good deal. There was hot showers and the rooms are large. We felt safe leaving our valuables at the desk and the staff were friendly. We were particularly impressed with the honesty of the staff, who returned a head torch to us that we had accidentally left in the room. If you can cope with the central but noisy location, this is a good basic choice for Nairobi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights and both nights there was an electricity blackout, which also means the bolier doesn't have electricity to heat water for the shower. This came at a bad time as we had to leave at 5.30am to begin our safari which meant packing in the dark. The room was okay, spacious, looking towards a large mosque. People working behind the desk weren't really friendly. I asked to see a couple of rooms when checking in and chose the best one. Paid EURO 25 for a double room with private toilet and shower which is cheap for Nairobi.

The neighbourhood is not good, filled with prostitutes in the night although there are a couple of good places to eat on the same street. Woke up in the middle of the first night by the sound of a woman screaming in the alleyway below.

I arranged a safari with Nelson who works at the hotel. The company is called Terminal Tours which is affiliated to the hotel. The safari was alot of fun allthough the driver did turn up 40 minutes late which made us a bit jittery as we had handed over quite alot of money for the safari.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Terminal hotel is well located for downtown Nairobi, a very modern supermarket is situated directly opposite and there are plenty of cafe/take out places and banks around the corner. The rooms are nothing special, however they are clean, large, comfortable and there is plenty of hot water. There is wifi connection which despite not being fast is reliable. Compared to many of the nighbouring hotels this is great value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terminal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terminal Hotel

Address: Mama Ngina Street, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 17

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terminal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.