We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great lunch, apart from all the noisy American tourists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, European, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Talisman is an elegant Gastrolounge with an eclectic twist. Described as "The best place in town" by New York Times Spirited Traveler and consistently the #1 restaurant in Kenya on TripAdvisor, The Talisman offers a myriad of experiences to our patrons. Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A really great lunch, apart from all the noisy American tourists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Me and my wife found this place on Tripadvisor and decided to drop by for lunch since we happened to be in the Karen district anyway.

The food was excellent and they actually grow all their own vegetables at the farm nextdoor. Very good service, and a great place. I just wish they could put all the loud American tourists in a separate room to avoid ruining the experience for us others. Both me and my wife found this very bothersome, but we don't blame Talisman, we blame the Americans

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Thanks alot for stopping in. We look forward to hosting you again any time you are in Karen. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    132
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had an Eat, Pray Love moment here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This place is beautiful, I was staying in Karen and when walking saw the name and checked it out on trip advisor. I went for lunch the next day and sat in the garden, it was so pretty and quite. I got two mojitos and the steak. It was absolutely delicious. I'm less and a few blocks walk and I hope to go on my last night as well. Great staff and wonderful service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Robin M , thanks so much for trying us out and for giving us a feedback. Glad that you enjoyed the Mojitos and our famous steak. We look forward to hosting you again before you leave town. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everything wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This one is probably the best restaurant in Nairobi. The food, as well as the environment are top class, the service is excellent, the garden area as well as the indoors sitting are of an exceptional good taste. You can go there for lunch, tea or dinner; on a business event or for a romantic date: it doesn't make any difference, it is always fantastic! A bit expensive, but all worthwhile. Remember to book and, possibly, ask for an outdoor sitting in the verandah near the fireplace: beautiful! The only problem? Its location is in Karen, a bit out of town, but even the trip is worth the effort.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Maurizio P, thanks so much for the lovely detailed review. Thanks for the specific comments on our food and the atmosphere. We'd love to welcome you back again to enjoy them. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Was here two weeks ago with Parents and Family and the food was awesome. Still talking about the pork belly dish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks very much for bringing your parents and family out to experience what Talisman has to offer. We're glad you enjoyed the pork belly, I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to the kitchen team. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar es salaam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very nice environment, and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

1st I would like to say how nice it is to get such a good service. now the food. fantastic, delicious. I think the best is to book in advance. We sat near the fireplace, it was cozy, warm, but the garden - is just refershing... just book before you go, and get there before 13:00hrs for lunch on weekends or public holidays.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks for the kind comments! We are delighted you enjoyed visiting us and hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.