We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, European, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Talisman is an elegant Gastrolounge with an eclectic twist. Described as "The best place in town" by New York Times Spirited Traveler and consistently the #1 restaurant in Kenya on TripAdvisor, The Talisman offers a myriad of experiences to our patrons. Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Nairobi
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have eaten here on a number of occasions and never been disappointed. The food is delicious with generous portions, staff are friendly and helpful. Was my choice of restaurant this year for my birthday dinner! Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks for the lovely feedback. We'd enjoy welcoming you back any time. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    132
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cali
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Place in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This restaurant is outstanding! If you think the food id great, don't miss out on the wines and the single malts! dear me, I was surprised with the selection, they had all my favorites and I am a hard to please customer. The staff is very efficient and pleasant -knowing as well-. Just perfect for a family gathering with teen agers, grandmothers and parents in a strange country and on safari.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks very much for the ringing endorsement! We're delighted you enjoyed our bar selections and hope to host you again. We're proud of our service team and are glad they met your expectations. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I love this restaurant wether I am going for lunch or dinner. There is a great choice of food and always a "chefs choice".
The setting is fabulous and the staff are very attentive. It is very popular so make sure you make a reservation first.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We're enjoying chef Marcus's adventures in food, and we can promise there will be alot of new tastes presented as specials. Thanks for the compliments on our staff, I'll be sure to pass along your kind words. Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must for Good time out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lovely place to have a day out, great food and amazing service. Away from the busy business center. I just love the place. With a little entertainment for the kids can be a place for family day out too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We're delighted you tried us and enjoyed what Talisman has to offer. Hope to see you again. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Chef Marcus and team have transformed this sleepy, delicious place over the last 18 months into a must go place in Nairobi. Whether it is a steak, tuna, trout or chicken limone you ate guaranteed a good meal in an idyllic setting. Feta samosas or nyati chicken wings are a great way to start!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thanks so much for the glowing review. We're proud of chef Marcus,kitchen crew and the service team and are always glad to hear which dishes made a hit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.