We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting but Very limited Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting but Very limited Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The atmosphere and original artwork in Talisman are delightful. I found the staff welcoming, very friendly and knowledgeable. It was a cool evening after a rainy day and the little frog-themed charcoal braziers are a lovely touch - so much nicer than the gas powered devices one so often sees these days. Inside, lovely, welcoming wood fires were burning. I ate outside on the terrace by the delightful garden.
The only disappointment was that all 3 of the dishes I really wanted were unavailable because I was told that they had run out of them due to a heavy demand at lunchtime. I wouldn't have thought it that difficult to make another batch of gnocchi. I ended up having fillet steak when I had really wanted a vegetarian meal, especially as I had looked at the menu online and this was one if the factors which influenced my choice of Talisman. The steak was good, but not what I really wanted and is why I couldn't award 5 stars for food. The creme brûlée was excellent and the house wines were very good.
I'll definitely visit again if I'm in Nairobi and hope that I can get the dish I want next time

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks very much for the helpful feedback. Certainly sorry to hear you were disappointed. The gnocchi is made completely by hand from scratch, so when it runs out, it is, unfortunately gone for the day. Kindly, next time as you book, please request for your dish ahead of time, am sure the kitchen team will be happy to reserve a portion for you. Come again, and let us surprise you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    177
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for eating out !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visited this Restaurant in Karen, Nairobi the other day after hearing so many good things about it from friends.

And I was not disappointed !

The food was great, atmosphere nice, service efficient and friendly and things to do for the children.

A small minus from the fact the restaurant doesn't have high chairs for babies...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. We're delighted you tried us and hope to see you again. Karibu !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Nairobi has proven itself to have a first class restaurant that would do well anywhere. It has some of the nicest gardens anywhere, a well-stocked bar (empty at lunch), plenty of seating options--indoors and out, a playground, and great food. The latte was outstanding to top off the meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for the lovely feedback Michael. We're delighted you enjoyed the latte and your visit. We'd enjoy welcoming you back anytime !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food....Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

we were greeted by Joe who explained the menu in great depth..this helped us with our choice..he knew the wine menu so the pairing was super
loved all the funky art on the walls and frankly this was the best meal that we had in our time in Nairobi it is well worth the drive.........Excellent Service...The atmosphere in the garden and under the open verandahs was the best....a MUST DO IN NAIROBI..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to post this review. Delighted that you enjoyed the food and service. I'll be sure to pass your compliments to Joe. Come back anytime, it's a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A "must do" in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our good friends David and Karen Sugden with Africa House Safaris introduced us to Talisman this past January and we absolutely loved it!
The atmosphere was young and upbeat with lots of locals and expats. Great bar and our food was over the top. I had two appetizers with the quail as my main course. Yum!!! If I were in Nairobi I would go there Tonight! In my opinion, Talisman is a must if you are in Nairobi!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks very much for the kind comments and we're really glad the quail "wowed" you. I'll be sure to share that with the kitchen team. Thanks to David and Karen Sugden with Africa House Safaris for bringing you out ,and we hope you'll be back next time you're in town. Karibu !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.