We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Sunday Lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 337 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Busy Sunday Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely garden setting under trees and open verandahs great food and wine. Excellent service. Make a reservation!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks very much, and we hope to see you back again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    155
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Been there twice and it was great both times. When it got cold outside, the server was smart enough to bring me a blanket.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks very much for the review and for taking the time to visit us more than once. Come again any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not Just "good food for Nairobi" but GOOD food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I went to Talisman and were very impressed. Since moving to Nairobi 7 months ago I have had to adjust my expectations and have typically been disappointed by the food, even by restaurants that have been recommended by friends and co workers. I now have two categories - good food and good food for Nairobi. Talisman that is quality food that can stand up anywhere- Nairobi or not. The service was great, the restaurant setting is beautiful and I cannot say enough great things. From Nairobi it can take some time to get there given the horrible traffic, but well worth it if you plan ahead. My husband got the chicken wings as an appetizer which he said were the best he has had since arriving and the beef he ordered was awesome. I typically won't eat the beef in Nairobi as it always had a poor aftertaste and is very tough, but not here. My gnocchi's were wonderful. Make the time to get out here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks so much for the ringing endorsement. We are delighted you found us worth the drive and that you enjoyed the food,ambiance and service. We'd love to welcome you back anytime. Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Turn the clock back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Spacious farmhouse style restaurant with vibey evenings frequented by expats. Huge lush gardens with good food take you back to the 60's in Kenya.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks very much for the feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to serving you again any time. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Just a Restaurant: It's Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I lived in Kenya for three years, just five minutes up the road from this amazing place. A one-off visit isn't enough to get to know the staff and sample the marvelous fare...but a lifetime wouldn't be enough to truly appreciate it soul-deep. This is a place that begs you to return, to bring friends, to blend in and become a part of its truly one-of-a-kind vibe.

Having traveled all over the world for the past 30 years, I can honestly say there is no other place on the planet like Talisman. It has its own spirit--one that draws you back like a lodestar. For three years, Talisman's warmth seeped into my own soul, as I got to know her people like my family and appreciate the undeniable passion that goes into the creation of every dish--from the local sourcing of ingredients to the artful presentation on each plate that leaves the kitchen, it's just pure love.

Come once, but, if you can, come again and again. Talisman is a place that welcomes you like an old friend and holds you in its embrace even when you're 3,000 miles away. My last dinner there before flying away from Kenya was a feast from the first appetizer to the last toast in the bar. Those memories will linger long and pull hard.

Michelin should truly pull up its socks and start adding African restaurants to its guide -- and they should begin with Talisman. Head Chef Marcus Mitchell is a legend in his own right, and his kitchen team is simply the finest I've ever seen. Put it on your bucket list. You haven't experienced Kenya if you've missed Talisman!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks so much for the hearty recommendation. I'll be sure to pass along your comments to Chef Marcus,kitchen crew and wait staff. We'd look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.