We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, European, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Talisman is an elegant Gastrolounge with an eclectic twist. Described as "The best place in town" by New York Times Spirited Traveler and consistently the #1 restaurant in Kenya on TripAdvisor, The Talisman offers a myriad of experiences to our patrons. Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you enjoy fine dining then Talisman is the restaurant. The ambience and friendly waiters provide an atmosphere for a good night out with friends and family. Try the feta and coriander samosas for your starter; or the chicken wings - they are great as you relaxed by the fire! For your main course try the ostrich or the braised belly of pork.

Better book in advance the restaurant is quite busy in the evenings and weekends. I prefer the tables next to the fire places for diner.

Visit the organic farmers market on Saturdays from 9:00am to 1:00pm for a selection of local organic fresh produce. Try the breakfast thereafter or stay on for lunch.

I recommend this restaurant for all those who enjoy good food and happy hour with friends!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank's very much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. Really appreciate the hearty recommendation of our food and service. We'd love welcoming you back again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    132
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Food and Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a great evening at Talisman...very good service, excellent food and a very cosy bar. Only downside was the torturous traffic getting there from the downtown hotel!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thanks for the lovely feedback. A quick tip for reaching us without all the nasty traffic: Use the Kikuyu road "bypass" through Dagoretti to get here from the other side of town, as there's never much traffic, and you can fly on over here in no time. We've even got a Note on our Facebook page with a map to show the shortcut. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, lovely ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had dinner with our friends on our last night in Kenya and it was fantastic. The restuarant is beautiful and the menu varied and interesting. Wine list very comprehensive. The food itself was delicious, I had sushi for one course which was very fresh and beautifully presented. My partner had steak and it was one of the best steaks I've ever tasted (so I stole some from him, but the portion was huge :-)). Great for a big group like us or equally romantic just for 2. Service was a little slow but it was quite busy so fair enough. The ice cream sundae for dessert was heavenly. Very impressive overall, highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks very much for the feedback and for taking the time to visit us on your last night in Kenya. Would love to see you again when you're next in town. Karibu !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nairobi? It could have been Paris, New York or San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Came in for an early meal and the place was really special. Great decor and good service with very interesting menu. The chef is catering to a real international crowd so the menu features Indian, Continental, Classic, Thai, and general world cuisine… The night we were there it was Peruvian… random, in Nairobi. I really enjoyed the menu and would return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words, and we'd love to welcome you back any time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Talisman Restauran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you are in Nairobi, do not miss Talisman. This is not in the city and is in the middle of no where but definitely worth the trip and most probably one of its best secret. Service was great and food was good! The environment is great for both a romantic dinner or dinner with friends. Its highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Guest Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for the lovely feedback and really appreciate the hearty recommendation of our service and food. We'd enjoy welcoming you back anytime. Karibu. !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.