We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eating al fresco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 338 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
warwick,ny
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“eating al fresco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

sipping an ice cold tusker with a delicious salad.. this is a beautiful outdoor dining experience in a lovely garden in Karen.. We ate lunch prior to our departure for the bush.. Wonderful wait staff, great food an altogether wonderful experience

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks very much for the kind words, and we're absolutely delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere, service and food. We'll pass your compliments to the kitchen crew and service staff. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    158
    30
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A treasure tucked away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

What an enjoyable brunch at the Talisman! Beautiful setting, fireplaces keeping the chill at bay. Good food and great friendly service. Be sure to check out their website for art exhibitions and special events like wine tastings and 5 course meals! Fresh organic market on Saturdays in the area too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind comments! We're delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and hope you'll be back again soon. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I came here last Sunday because a friend loved his last time there. The truth is that the ambience and service were in my opinnion really nice..

But the quality of the food was just good (not too good if you think about the price). Even my friend told me about to remember something different and we guess that maybe that day they were just very busy.

Anyway we spend a good and relaxing time

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for the helpful feedback, Pedro. We're glad you found the ambiance and service excellent, but we'd really like to change your opinion on the food. Sundays are, indeed, very busy for us, but we still want to do our best to make sure each dish is fantastic, no matter how many people are here. Come again, and let us surprise you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Went with Rachael, Dennis and Casey on my visit in September 2013, food was excellent and with it being chilly in the evening the frog chimeneas filled with hot charcoal were very cosy. Will go again on my next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks! We're glad you found the atmosphere cosy and inviting and that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Nairobi. Karibu sana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our daughter brought us there for lunch, she had been before. A little hard to find, but you should make the effort to find it. We sat outdoors on a lovely patio. Excellent service and the burger was one of the best ever!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks very much for the kind words. Thanks to your daughter for bringing you out, and we hope you'll be back next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.