We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in a little hurry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Lunch in a little hurry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food is, despite the ratings here on TripAdvisor, are by my opinion the best in Nairobi.
It is more simple and well prepared than other restaurants. I tend to find the food in Nairobi to fancy, where instead of making perfect cooking on the elements, the name, presentation and use of ingredients are more important, making the food extraordinary, but failing in details.
I have not yet been disappointed at Talisman.
My latest experience was a lunch. I had a 3 course lunch, where it all was amazing. Well done!
I was eating alone and in a little hurry, but the waiters and kitchen was without delays or complications. I enjoyed every bit of the lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks very much for the stellar review! We're delighted that you found our service quick and efficient, but we're especially proud that you find our food the best in town. I'll be sure to pass your compliments to Chef Marcus and the kitchen team. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    171
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could not get enough of it!!! Love everything about the Talisman!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, fabulous food and menu ( including the drink menu at night), cool Moorish decor, interesting people watching. I just loved hanging out here and ended up having almost every lunch and dinner here! Do not miss the samosas!!
Wish I had a Talisman at home...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks very much for your ringing endorsement! We are delighted you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service. Come back again anytime. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If in Karen Nairobi you must go to Talisman and experience the restaurant. Good food, fine ambiance and really client orientated service. The outside is good to sit spacious tables and in general sufficient space. No interfering with the people next to you, the restaurant is a very relaxing experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks very much for this lovely endorsement. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to serving you again any time. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Moorish in several ways!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place has a wonderful atmosphere, with a roaring log fire and cosy corners ,. it has excellent food and very attentive staff, and a lively bar if you only want a drink. It was well worth the journey to get there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, Ruth! We're glad you enjoyed our ambiance and felt the mood that is truly 'Talismanic'! Welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Talisman is nestled in a wonderful old house. Fires keep the chill off on a cloudy day and the garden is lovely. Book ahead for large parties, but otherwise walking in is fine. You MUST have the coriander feta samosas. Pork belly is to die for and the other varying options are well worth sampling. Ask for chef's recommendations. A great place for a cozy dinner or leisurely lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thanks very much for the stellar review! Any time someone uses "to-die-for" when talking of our food, it puts huge smiles on our faces. I'll pass along your compliments to the chef, and come back any time. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.