We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
P.O. Box 834 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 300 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Recently reopened after extensive renovations, the Talisman is located in Karen just on the outskirts of Nairobi in an old colonial building among lush beautiful gardens. Relax either indoors or outdoors or outdoors on our beautiful patio. Chef Marcus Mitchell, who has trained in France and Spain, brings his own unique touch to each dish and has gained acclaim for his fabulous continental and fusion menu. Talisman's service team is also renowned for its hospitality.
1 review
“A welcome relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

After being told that we have an extra day in country due to our flight being delayed by 24 hours some of us were a bit anxious to get home. The atmosphere in Talisman was very relaxing, the setting tranquil and the food delicious. The moment we got to our table and tucked into our food I could see that the stress was let go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks very much, and we're glad we could turn your delayed flight into a pleasant, relaxing experience. Come back again any time you're in town. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    208
    93
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food in a very nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Diner with friends. Special occasion. Talisman did not disappoint. The food here is awesome. Service is great. Good selection of wines. Atmosphere very relaxing. Fireplace. This is one of the best restaurants in Nairobi - for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review. We're delighted you enjoyed the food, the service and the ambiance. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Brilliant food and wonderful staff and service. Great decor and lovely touch having froggy burners to warm us!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks so much, Leslie Ann. We're delighted you tried us and hope to see you again next time you're in Kenya. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our visit to the Talisman was on a day that we were supposed to be flying home. The food we ate was amazing and it turned a disaster of day in to one of the best days of our holiday. The setting and atmosphere was very welcoming. I will definitely come again if ever in Kenya.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you, Hannah! We truly enjoyed hosting your group and were so glad we could turn a frustrating day into a special outing. We'd love to have you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good memory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location, decor' and ambiance of this classic Restaurant is just out of this world. First, I love the name itself. Once I was the Manager at Rusty Nail Restaurant before the owner decided on another business, and all a long, I knew Talisman was the best even if they were my direct competitor. Am glad to note today that Talisman is still the Number 1 in its category. I had lunch there a few days ago and the experience was superb. The service, the meals all were excellent so to say. If you got someone special, office lunch or even a family lunch, you are assured of credit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks so much for the endorsement. It's always great to receive comments from a fellow Nairobian (and restaurateur). You're welcome any time, and let us know what we can do to make it a five-star experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.