We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
P.O. Box 834 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Recently reopened after extensive renovations, the Talisman is located in Karen just on the outskirts of Nairobi in an old colonial building among lush beautiful gardens. Relax either indoors or outdoors or outdoors on our beautiful patio. Chef Marcus Mitchell, who has trained in France and Spain, brings his own unique touch to each dish and has gained acclaim for his fabulous continental and fusion menu. Talisman's service team is also renowned for its hospitality.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have resolved that there are few good restaurants in Nairobi. For that reason, mediocre restaurants thrive.

Talisman is a gorgeous restaurant in my mind. I love the look and feel, the furniture, artwork, children's play area and more.

The food quality is inconsistent. I did not enjoy my very dry steak during my last visit. My girlfriend's hamburger was outstanding.

The service was no surprise - poor. For example, our first round of drinks arrived at our table 25 minutes after we had placed our drinks order. I went to the bar to follow up our drinks order. I found the staff members involved in a heated conversation. They had not yet started on the drinks order.

The food service was not much better. The waiter would only bus the table with prompting. We'd ordered several rounds of drinks, starters and entrees. He kept bringing out food and drink but did not want to clear anything away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Lisa, we would really appreciate knowing what date you visited and where you sat. We work to resolve all service issues immediately, and what you experienced definitely must be corrected. If you wouldn't mind giving us a call or dropping a line, we'd like to take down the details of your visit so we can straighten this out. Any time service is not up to par, please feel free to call for Steve or Christine, who are there to ensure every guest has a wonderful dining experience. Thanks, and we hope to see you back again so we can show you what makes Talisman exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    236
    110
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

talisman has a very rustique feel... the food is great.. the menu is something totally different.. continental cuisine. great place to have long lazy lunches.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks! Please come back any time for a 'long, lazy lunch'...or dinner! We're delighted to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The best restaurant in Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Marcus is a fabulous chef, and goes to great lengths to make sure that the quality of his dishes equal their spectacular presentation. From his Hot Wings, to Zanzibar Coconut Fish Soup, to Grilled Fresh Salmom, to a serving of Talisman Gold with either a virgin or spiked Hibiscus lemonade, the eating experience is by far the best in town! The staff is pretty good with the concept of customer service, and the bathrooms are clean ... neither a common phenomenon in Kenya, or most places these days.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We really appreciate your endorsement and will pass your compliments on to Chef Marcus. He's a national treasure for sure! Come back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

One of the best places in Nairobi. Great food, great service and an awesome atmosphere. My wife (who is a vegetarian) and I really appreciate how well things are executed. The only complaints we have are 1) it's in Karen and 2) it's also fairly crowded so plan on making reservations - Two things management can't control.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks very much for your hearty endorsement. We do love to cater to vegetarians with a variety of delicious offerings. And just think--when that bypass road is finally finished, Karen will be a quick hop from any part of town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Vegetable Thai Green Curry... YUM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

No.. I am not a vegan or vegetarian... but this is my favourite dish they serve! Always delicious, waiters are lovely... though it can get very busy sometimes and you are probably best to try and book before you show up!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for that seal of approval. We're pretty proud of our excellent chef and his crew, and our Thai dishes seem to hit a home run each time. Glad you enjoyed Talisman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.