We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetable Thai Green Curry... YUM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Vegetable Thai Green Curry... YUM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

No.. I am not a vegan or vegetarian... but this is my favourite dish they serve! Always delicious, waiters are lovely... though it can get very busy sometimes and you are probably best to try and book before you show up!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for that seal of approval. We're pretty proud of our excellent chef and his crew, and our Thai dishes seem to hit a home run each time. Glad you enjoyed Talisman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    155
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great spot for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our party of 5 ate dinner at Talisman during a recent stay in Karen, and enjoy it thoroughly. It has a very pleasant and vibrant ambiance, with interesting and warm decor, the service was excellent and helpful, and the food very tasty. We especially enjoyed the feta and coriander samosas. I ordered sautéed mushrooms, which were quite delicious. Although we ate inside, there was a nice outdoor area for warmer evenings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. We'd love to have you back again to try us in warm season when you can really enjoy the patio. Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Talisman was recommended to us by Chris at Jungle Junction, as a good upmarket "colonial style" place to have a meal. It's exactly that. It's tastefully done; the vibe and atmosphere was good, it was peaceful but not dead; the food was good and the service was great. Free wifi was good. Their cocktails were particularly excellent - we really enjoyed their chilli passion martini!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for the great review (and thanks to Chris for recommending us!). We're delighted you enjoyed your meal and would love to welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited Talisman on Friday night and it was a bit of a disappointment given the great reviews received on TA...

The service was friendly and efficient, great. However, the fact that the kitchen closed at 22:00 was a bit strange given the fact that the entire place was filled to capacity around this time (we arrived at 21:20 and were informed that we need to get our order in asap if we wanted to eat).

Fine, the above I can still live with. However, the food was, at best, average. My burger missed some of its advertised toppings. I had asked for french fries (one has the option for thick-cut or thin french) and the bulky chips arrived. Felt a bit mass-produced to be honest and pricey for what was offered.

Would rather go back to Urban in Westlands if wanting a good burger!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Our kitchen hours are given on our website and on our Facebook page. The kitchen closes at 10pm Tuesday to Saturday and 9pm on Sunday. Our bar remains open past kitchen closing times, of course, and we always have a full crowd on weekends, as Talisman is a popular gathering place for locals. If you'd like to come in late, you can always call in your order ahead, and we'll have it ready when you arrive. The full menu is on our site at thetalismanrestaurant.com for your convenience, and we post chef's specials regularly on Facebook. We'd love to have you try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommeded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a lovely meal here and the staff were attentive, bring us an outdoor heater when they noticed my daughter shiver. We enjoyed our night and would go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave the feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Try us on a sunny day so you can enjoy the warmth of the patio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.