We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere, good food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Talisman was recommended to us by Chris at Jungle Junction, as a good upmarket "colonial style" place to have a meal. It's exactly that. It's tastefully done; the vibe and atmosphere was good, it was peaceful but not dead; the food was good and the service was great. Free wifi was good. Their cocktails were particularly excellent - we really enjoyed their chilli passion martini!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for the great review (and thanks to Chris for recommending us!). We're delighted you enjoyed your meal and would love to welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    171
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited Talisman on Friday night and it was a bit of a disappointment given the great reviews received on TA...

The service was friendly and efficient, great. However, the fact that the kitchen closed at 22:00 was a bit strange given the fact that the entire place was filled to capacity around this time (we arrived at 21:20 and were informed that we need to get our order in asap if we wanted to eat).

Fine, the above I can still live with. However, the food was, at best, average. My burger missed some of its advertised toppings. I had asked for french fries (one has the option for thick-cut or thin french) and the bulky chips arrived. Felt a bit mass-produced to be honest and pricey for what was offered.

Would rather go back to Urban in Westlands if wanting a good burger!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Our kitchen hours are given on our website and on our Facebook page. The kitchen closes at 10pm Tuesday to Saturday and 9pm on Sunday. Our bar remains open past kitchen closing times, of course, and we always have a full crowd on weekends, as Talisman is a popular gathering place for locals. If you'd like to come in late, you can always call in your order ahead, and we'll have it ready when you arrive. The full menu is on our site at thetalismanrestaurant.com for your convenience, and we post chef's specials regularly on Facebook. We'd love to have you try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommeded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a lovely meal here and the staff were attentive, bring us an outdoor heater when they noticed my daughter shiver. We enjoyed our night and would go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave the feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Try us on a sunny day so you can enjoy the warmth of the patio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended... Have had breakfast, lunch & dinner here and it's always good.
Knowledgable and helpful staff, good wifi, lovely ambiance, great wine list... I could go on, definitely worth a visit whilst in Nairobi... Keep it up...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the kind remarks. We'll be introducing some new breakfast options soon, so we'd love to welcome you back to try those. It's always a pleasure to see familiar faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a good place for weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Last weekends (25th may,2013) we 5 friends went to talisman ... it was like a long drive to Karen and after reaching there we all found that its really worth it .. i just love the place .... Food was good but will not say excellent ... and price is high specially soup one Tom Yum Goone cost 950 Kenyan currency!! One week part is the waiters are very slow.. we have ordered different dishes, but the food portion was not ok for all dishes .like when we went there i have ordered rice with king prawns and for me the portion was very small for me so later on i took one extra drink and for my husband his food portion was quite good for an empty stomach ... lol... overall it’s not bad.. i will encourage people to visit this restaurant for at least one time..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your comments. We're really working hard to improve wait times, and we're always interested in hearing how you enjoyed the food and what we can improve. Hope to see you again, and we're glad you felt it was worth the drive to Karen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.