We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious menu. Lovely location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, European, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Talisman is an elegant Gastrolounge with an eclectic twist. Described as "The best place in town" by New York Times Spirited Traveler and consistently the #1 restaurant in Kenya on TripAdvisor, The Talisman offers a myriad of experiences to our patrons. Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious menu. Lovely location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We've eaten here twice now & both times enjoyed delicious, freshly cooked and creative meals. The wasabi hollondaise is an inspired idea. The smoked trout chowder was thick and tasty. Both the porcini & smoked salmon tartlets were divine!
The chef is not only incredibly talented but also very friendly and accommodating. I strongly recommend a visit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this lovely, detailed review. We're always glad to hear which dishes made a hit, and we're delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere as well. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    132
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This will be a restaurant you daydream about. The interior and exterior are seamlessly united and fireplaces and braziers are in every corner lending an unpretentious cozy yet open feeling. The tables are outfitted with oil and vinegar sets, salt and pepper containers and flower vases all from Kitengela glass. The wine and liquor list appear complete and the food is outstanding. A bit on the expensive side, but VAT is included and considering the atmosphere and food quality Talisman is not overpriced.

We were served by Alphonse, the head waiter. He is delightful and very accommodating. We had the wasabi steak, forest mushrooms with gnocchi, spicy tuna roll and the chocolate pudding for dessert. All were quite good, but be aware that the steak isn't too spicy, despite the wasabi. If you like it hot, you might ask them to kick it up a notch.

The only thing that made me in the least bit sad was that the liquor bottles are computerized and my single of Cointreau was...diminutive.

Highly recommend a trip here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are truly delighted that you enjoyed our warm atmosphere, the food and the service (Alphonse is legendary around here). It's our pleasure to welcome you any time, and thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Visited Talisman with the family after an unusual month-long gap since our last visit. The food was super - it was just like really good home cooking. Combine this with the rustic atmosphere and you have a place that you can keep on coming back to. My only complaint this time is that the service was poor (compared to my last visits). Drinks orders were missed, food was slow to appear etc. Having said this, it was a Sunday lunch so the restaurant was busy - but that is no excuse in my mind and the staff should be trained to deal with this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for the kind words about our atmosphere and menu. We're proud of both and hope to see you back again soon to enjoy them. We've hired several new staff team members and are in the midst of training for all, so we apologize for the slow service. We're working to improve that and appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Talisman is simply sumptuous. A beautiful restaurant in Karen, decorated in a mixture of African and Middle Eastern designs. Lovely garden where the kids can play. The service is great and the food is delicious. Try the samosas with coriander and feta, just to die for. The place is also calm and serene, a great place to spend Sunday brunch

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks so much for the glowing review. We're proud of our beautiful atmosphere and our amazing chef and are always glad to hear they've hit a home run for a customer. Please do come back and enjoy the patio and our menu any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Was in Nairobi for work and visiting the Talisman for dinner was a fantastic night out. The food was absolutely delicious - that Thai Red Chicken Curry was amazing!!!! Nice wine selection and great vibe and atmosphere.... if you are staying in central Nairobi it is a bit of a drive (especially taking Nairobi traffic into account) but it is a great way to the city and besides it is worth the drive!!

Would definately recommend and go again!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your meal with us! We're delighted you enjoyed the food--I'll be sure to pass the compliments to the chefs--and the wine. Come back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.