We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
P.O. Box 834 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 321 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Recently reopened after extensive renovations, the Talisman is located in Karen just on the outskirts of Nairobi in an old colonial building among lush beautiful gardens. Relax either indoors or outdoors or outdoors on our beautiful patio. Chef Marcus Mitchell, who has trained in France and Spain, brings his own unique touch to each dish and has gained acclaim for his fabulous continental and fusion menu. Talisman's service team is also renowned for its hospitality.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Visited Talisman with the family after an unusual month-long gap since our last visit. The food was super - it was just like really good home cooking. Combine this with the rustic atmosphere and you have a place that you can keep on coming back to. My only complaint this time is that the service was poor (compared to my last visits). Drinks orders were missed, food was slow to appear etc. Having said this, it was a Sunday lunch so the restaurant was busy - but that is no excuse in my mind and the staff should be trained to deal with this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thanks for the kind words about our atmosphere and menu. We're proud of both and hope to see you back again soon to enjoy them. We've hired several new staff team members and are in the midst of training for all, so we apologize for the slow service. We're working to improve that and appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    122
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Talisman is simply sumptuous. A beautiful restaurant in Karen, decorated in a mixture of African and Middle Eastern designs. Lovely garden where the kids can play. The service is great and the food is delicious. Try the samosas with coriander and feta, just to die for. The place is also calm and serene, a great place to spend Sunday brunch

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks so much for the glowing review. We're proud of our beautiful atmosphere and our amazing chef and are always glad to hear they've hit a home run for a customer. Please do come back and enjoy the patio and our menu any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Was in Nairobi for work and visiting the Talisman for dinner was a fantastic night out. The food was absolutely delicious - that Thai Red Chicken Curry was amazing!!!! Nice wine selection and great vibe and atmosphere.... if you are staying in central Nairobi it is a bit of a drive (especially taking Nairobi traffic into account) but it is a great way to the city and besides it is worth the drive!!

Would definately recommend and go again!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your meal with us! We're delighted you enjoyed the food--I'll be sure to pass the compliments to the chefs--and the wine. Come back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strassen, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been twice to the Taslisman and have always enjoyed being there in good company.

Choice of food is good and quite original from Asian to European. Well cooked and tasted. I tend to eat vegetarian when I am at the Talisman.

I especially like the atmosphere in general. Relaxing and comfortable with some fresh air.

It's a bit out of town. So if you are in Nairobi city, I may take you some time (depending on Nairobi's famous traffic jams) to get there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, and we're delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. Chef Marcus is very proud of his vegetarian offerings, especially now that Talisman has its own organic garden. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“half half”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

this was our 2nd visit at Talisman since its re-opening. Ambience is just beautiful, first course- feta samosas- were breathtaking... Main courses rather disappointing. Staff very friendly but sorry to say... incompetent all through. It started with wrong price information on wines, upon our request for red wine we were offered savignon blanc... we ordered 2cold beer but got warm beer instead. we ordered 2indian beef curry medium spicy but got it extra mild... food was cold when it reached our table. Desserts and first courses were outstanding good, the rest not good enough. for a 16000ksh meal for 4people i truly expect more. Surely we'll give it another try over the weekend:-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're very sorry we've disappointed you and will certainly strive to do better next time. We've hired a lot of new staff and are stepping up training, particularly on the wine list. Do come and give us another go. Chef Marcus has added several new menu items and is creating new and exciting specials each week that we'd love for you to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.