We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely...until the band started playing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, European, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Talisman is an elegant Gastrolounge with an eclectic twist. Described as "The best place in town" by New York Times Spirited Traveler and consistently the #1 restaurant in Kenya on TripAdvisor, The Talisman offers a myriad of experiences to our patrons. Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Nairobi
1 review
“Lovely...until the band started playing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been to Talisman previously and thoroughly enjoyed their cuisine and ambiance. Pleasant and knowledgeable staff, fantastic food and drinks. However, I had an unpleasant experience during my last visit. Everything was perfect, until the band started playing. They were extremely loud and were singing the most outdated and depressing music. The group I was with had to stop our conversation because we could not hear each other and eventually we hurried up and left. I understand the need for variety but please either play soft background music, and if it is a band, please let it be instrumental only sans the booming guitar solos...for conversation's sake. On a positive note, the drummer in the band was fantastic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed our menu. We do feature a live band the first Friday of each month, and we also had them come to play on our final day before closing for renovations, which was a lively party, indeed. If you prefer a quiet, intimate evening, we recommend weeknights and Sunday evenings. You can also always ask for a table by the fire away from the band if you prefer to come on a first Friday. We're happy to accommodate. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    132
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Karen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Talisman is my favourite restaurant in the Karen area. The menu is interesting, the food superb, and the service reasonable. The ambiance is up-scale, although because it’s so good it also tends to be crowded and, therefore, can be a bit noisy. Ask for a quieter table if this is a problem. Worth several repeat visits!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the review, Phil. We're delighted you've enjoyed our menu and ambiance, and we look forward to welcoming you back after our renovations are complete. We think you'll find Talisman 2.0 an even more enchanting treat. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a great Kenyan restaurant hidden away in the corner beside the shell garage on the Ngong road into Karen. Excellent value traditional Kenyan food and plenty of it , you cant go wrong.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. We're actually across the street from the Shell (for those looking who can't find us) and up Ngong Road just a bit. Come see us when we reopen after our renovations this March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Marcus the best chef in the whole of Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have had the opportunity of eating at this fab resturant many times...the food is tops...service is the best...for anyone visiting Nairobi the Talisman is a must do it will make your visit to Kenya memorable....Congratulations Marcus on your award well deserved

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Wow--we're blushing! Thanks so much for the kind words, and we're very, very proud of Chef Marcus and his Top Chef award. Hope to see you here again after Talisman reopens with an even more amazing ambiance and a gorgeous kitchen worthy of our chef. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Some friends and I ate here while on a brief trip to Nairobi. I really enjoyed it. Had a few drinks at the bar area beforehand, which was nice. Menu had good variety, the staff were all very efficient and polite, and I really liked the ambiance and environment. If I ever go back to Kenya, I'll make the effort to go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time on your short trip to add a visit to Talisman. We'd love to have you again on your next visit, especially as we're renovating and building a brand new kitchen, which will make Talisman 2.0 even better. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.