We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marcus the best chef in the whole of Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Fusion, Gastropub, African, French, Japanese, American, Mediterranean, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
ottawa
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Marcus the best chef in the whole of Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have had the opportunity of eating at this fab resturant many times...the food is tops...service is the best...for anyone visiting Nairobi the Talisman is a must do it will make your visit to Kenya memorable....Congratulations Marcus on your award well deserved

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Wow--we're blushing! Thanks so much for the kind words, and we're very, very proud of Chef Marcus and his Top Chef award. Hope to see you here again after Talisman reopens with an even more amazing ambiance and a gorgeous kitchen worthy of our chef. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Some friends and I ate here while on a brief trip to Nairobi. I really enjoyed it. Had a few drinks at the bar area beforehand, which was nice. Menu had good variety, the staff were all very efficient and polite, and I really liked the ambiance and environment. If I ever go back to Kenya, I'll make the effort to go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleGobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time on your short trip to add a visit to Talisman. We'd love to have you again on your next visit, especially as we're renovating and building a brand new kitchen, which will make Talisman 2.0 even better. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antiguo Cuscatlan, El Salvador
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Over rated, service disappointing always”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been to Talisman at least four times. Every time I have found the service slow to the point of annoying. Beyond the play ground equipment and being open to having children around it is not such a great deal for kids-the chairs are impossible for them to sit in, no kids menu and the slowness of food arriving is a deterrent. The decor is nice and food ok, but not worth dragging yourself out on Ngong road on the weekend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Acebo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Really sorry to see that you've never managed to have a stellar experience after four visits--that's got to be some kind of record, as we really pride ourselves on our food and our service. We're closed until March for renovations, but we'd love to have you back when we reopen. Please ask to speak personally with Chef Marcus, as he'd like to make sure you everything goes smoothly for you. We look forward to seeing you again and trying our best to give you the full Talisman experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant on busy Langata Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Talisman is located on Langata Rd which is a nice surprise since Langata is always crowded with matatus, bus stops and shoppers. But once you get into the Talisman you feel like you are in bush garden surrounding by beautiful flowers, plants and trees. The restaurant itself is always busy especially with expat community in Karen. Talisman has a small but crowded bar and beautiful patio where you can dine under the stars. Food is very well waiters are very helpful and knowledgeable which is a nice thing since you do not get quick service in most restaurants in Nairobi. They have their own parking area. If you live in Karen this probably will be your one of the dining destinations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zeynep V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, and we're delighted you enjoyed our ambiance and service. We're actually located at 320 Ngong Road, which is around Karen Roundabout from Langata Road--just in case any readers are confused trying to find us in the future. ;-) Come back and see us after our renovations are complete in March. We'll have a lot of great new things to show off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want the best ambiance available in Nairobi, accompanied by great food and service, this is your best bet! Great for a long weekend lunch or a beautiful dinner venue as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadeem N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks so much, Nadeem! We hope you'll be able to visit again after our renovations are complete in March. The ambiance is going to be even more amazing! So glad you enjoyed all that Talisman has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing