We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talisman

The Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Some friends and I ate here while on a brief trip to Nairobi. I really enjoyed it. Had a few drinks at the bar area beforehand, which was nice. Menu had good variety, the staff were all very efficient and polite, and I really liked the ambiance and environment. If I ever go back to Kenya, I'll make the effort to go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time on your short trip to add a visit to Talisman. We'd love to have you again on your next visit, especially as we're renovating and building a brand new kitchen, which will make Talisman 2.0 even better. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    171
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antiguo Cuscatlan, El Salvador
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Over rated, service disappointing always”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been to Talisman at least four times. Every time I have found the service slow to the point of annoying. Beyond the play ground equipment and being open to having children around it is not such a great deal for kids-the chairs are impossible for them to sit in, no kids menu and the slowness of food arriving is a deterrent. The decor is nice and food ok, but not worth dragging yourself out on Ngong road on the weekend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Really sorry to see that you've never managed to have a stellar experience after four visits--that's got to be some kind of record, as we really pride ourselves on our food and our service. We're closed until March for renovations, but we'd love to have you back when we reopen. Please ask to speak personally with Chef Marcus, as he'd like to make sure you everything goes smoothly for you. We look forward to seeing you again and trying our best to give you the full Talisman experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant on busy Langata Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Talisman is located on Langata Rd which is a nice surprise since Langata is always crowded with matatus, bus stops and shoppers. But once you get into the Talisman you feel like you are in bush garden surrounding by beautiful flowers, plants and trees. The restaurant itself is always busy especially with expat community in Karen. Talisman has a small but crowded bar and beautiful patio where you can dine under the stars. Food is very well waiters are very helpful and knowledgeable which is a nice thing since you do not get quick service in most restaurants in Nairobi. They have their own parking area. If you live in Karen this probably will be your one of the dining destinations.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, and we're delighted you enjoyed our ambiance and service. We're actually located at 320 Ngong Road, which is around Karen Roundabout from Langata Road--just in case any readers are confused trying to find us in the future. ;-) Come back and see us after our renovations are complete in March. We'll have a lot of great new things to show off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want the best ambiance available in Nairobi, accompanied by great food and service, this is your best bet! Great for a long weekend lunch or a beautiful dinner venue as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks so much, Nadeem! We hope you'll be able to visit again after our renovations are complete in March. The ambiance is going to be even more amazing! So glad you enjoyed all that Talisman has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food, chilled out surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not particularly easy to find for non Nairobi residents, this is located in Karen, around 200 m beyond Karen roundabout on the road towards the Ngong hills, entrance hidden in the trees on the right hand side of the road. A perfect lunch spot if you are in the Karen area, it also merits a trip from town in its own right. Tables can be either indoors (log fires during the colder months) or outdoors on the sunny terrace or garden. Would recommend indoors during the rainy season as the weather can change very quickly! Fusion menu with Western and Asian inspired dishes, this is also home to Nairobi's biggest and best burger. Good selection, with five or six additional daily specials. Hits have included the ostrich steak and the tuna and avocado salad. They also offer a good selection of juices and good value coffees.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at The Talisman, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Really glad you found us worth the drive time, and thanks for the lovely words about our food and atmosphere. We'll be kicking things up a few notches in 2013 with our remodel, so we hope you'll be back to visit again to sample Talisman 2.0!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talisman also viewed

 

Been to The Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.