We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated, service disappointing always” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: African, European, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Talisman is an elegant Gastrolounge with an eclectic twist. Described as "The best place in town" by New York Times Spirited Traveler and consistently the #1 restaurant in Kenya on TripAdvisor, The Talisman offers a myriad of experiences to our patrons. Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
San Salvador Department, El Salvador
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Over rated, service disappointing always”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been to Talisman at least four times. Every time I have found the service slow to the point of annoying. Beyond the play ground equipment and being open to having children around it is not such a great deal for kids-the chairs are impossible for them to sit in, no kids menu and the slowness of food arriving is a deterrent. The decor is nice and food ok, but not worth dragging yourself out on Ngong road on the weekend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Really sorry to see that you've never managed to have a stellar experience after four visits--that's got to be some kind of record, as we really pride ourselves on our food and our service. We're closed until March for renovations, but we'd love to have you back when we reopen. Please ask to speak personally with Chef Marcus, as he'd like to make sure you everything goes smoothly for you. We look forward to seeing you again and trying our best to give you the full Talisman experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    132
    24
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant on busy Langata Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Talisman is located on Langata Rd which is a nice surprise since Langata is always crowded with matatus, bus stops and shoppers. But once you get into the Talisman you feel like you are in bush garden surrounding by beautiful flowers, plants and trees. The restaurant itself is always busy especially with expat community in Karen. Talisman has a small but crowded bar and beautiful patio where you can dine under the stars. Food is very well waiters are very helpful and knowledgeable which is a nice thing since you do not get quick service in most restaurants in Nairobi. They have their own parking area. If you live in Karen this probably will be your one of the dining destinations.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, and we're delighted you enjoyed our ambiance and service. We're actually located at 320 Ngong Road, which is around Karen Roundabout from Langata Road--just in case any readers are confused trying to find us in the future. ;-) Come back and see us after our renovations are complete in March. We'll have a lot of great new things to show off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want the best ambiance available in Nairobi, accompanied by great food and service, this is your best bet! Great for a long weekend lunch or a beautiful dinner venue as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks so much, Nadeem! We hope you'll be able to visit again after our renovations are complete in March. The ambiance is going to be even more amazing! So glad you enjoyed all that Talisman has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good food, chilled out surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not particularly easy to find for non Nairobi residents, this is located in Karen, around 200 m beyond Karen roundabout on the road towards the Ngong hills, entrance hidden in the trees on the right hand side of the road. A perfect lunch spot if you are in the Karen area, it also merits a trip from town in its own right. Tables can be either indoors (log fires during the colder months) or outdoors on the sunny terrace or garden. Would recommend indoors during the rainy season as the weather can change very quickly! Fusion menu with Western and Asian inspired dishes, this is also home to Nairobi's biggest and best burger. Good selection, with five or six additional daily specials. Hits have included the ostrich steak and the tuna and avocado salad. They also offer a good selection of juices and good value coffees.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Really glad you found us worth the drive time, and thanks for the lovely words about our food and atmosphere. We'll be kicking things up a few notches in 2013 with our remodel, so we hope you'll be back to visit again to sample Talisman 2.0!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magic Marcus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Best wings I've ever eaten with a chunky blue cheese dip. Feta samosas are a much copied classic, but none do them as well. Porcini tartlets are sublime. I rarely make it to the main course, having been stuffed on starters. But when I do, the beef karai or hamburger is the way to my heart.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks so much! We're very proud of Marcus and can't wait to see what he has up his sleeves for 2013. Glad to have you back any time--cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.