We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated, service disappointing always” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
P.O. Box 834 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Recently reopened after extensive renovations, the Talisman is located in Karen just on the outskirts of Nairobi in an old colonial building among lush beautiful gardens. Relax either indoors or outdoors or outdoors on our beautiful patio. Chef Marcus Mitchell, who has trained in France and Spain, brings his own unique touch to each dish and has gained acclaim for his fabulous continental and fusion menu. Talisman's service team is also renowned for its hospitality.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Over rated, service disappointing always”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been to Talisman at least four times. Every time I have found the service slow to the point of annoying. Beyond the play ground equipment and being open to having children around it is not such a great deal for kids-the chairs are impossible for them to sit in, no kids menu and the slowness of food arriving is a deterrent. The decor is nice and food ok, but not worth dragging yourself out on Ngong road on the weekend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Really sorry to see that you've never managed to have a stellar experience after four visits--that's got to be some kind of record, as we really pride ourselves on our food and our service. We're closed until March for renovations, but we'd love to have you back when we reopen. Please ask to speak personally with Chef Marcus, as he'd like to make sure you everything goes smoothly for you. We look forward to seeing you again and trying our best to give you the full Talisman experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    231
    110
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice restaurant on busy Langata Road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Talisman is located on Langata Rd which is a nice surprise since Langata is always crowded with matatus, bus stops and shoppers. But once you get into the Talisman you feel like you are in bush garden surrounding by beautiful flowers, plants and trees. The restaurant itself is always busy especially with expat community in Karen. Talisman has a small but crowded bar and beautiful patio where you can dine under the stars. Food is very well waiters are very helpful and knowledgeable which is a nice thing since you do not get quick service in most restaurants in Nairobi. They have their own parking area. If you live in Karen this probably will be your one of the dining destinations.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, and we're delighted you enjoyed our ambiance and service. We're actually located at 320 Ngong Road, which is around Karen Roundabout from Langata Road--just in case any readers are confused trying to find us in the future. ;-) Come back and see us after our renovations are complete in March. We'll have a lot of great new things to show off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want the best ambiance available in Nairobi, accompanied by great food and service, this is your best bet! Great for a long weekend lunch or a beautiful dinner venue as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks so much, Nadeem! We hope you'll be able to visit again after our renovations are complete in March. The ambiance is going to be even more amazing! So glad you enjoyed all that Talisman has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food, chilled out surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not particularly easy to find for non Nairobi residents, this is located in Karen, around 200 m beyond Karen roundabout on the road towards the Ngong hills, entrance hidden in the trees on the right hand side of the road. A perfect lunch spot if you are in the Karen area, it also merits a trip from town in its own right. Tables can be either indoors (log fires during the colder months) or outdoors on the sunny terrace or garden. Would recommend indoors during the rainy season as the weather can change very quickly! Fusion menu with Western and Asian inspired dishes, this is also home to Nairobi's biggest and best burger. Good selection, with five or six additional daily specials. Hits have included the ostrich steak and the tuna and avocado salad. They also offer a good selection of juices and good value coffees.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Really glad you found us worth the drive time, and thanks for the lovely words about our food and atmosphere. We'll be kicking things up a few notches in 2013 with our remodel, so we hope you'll be back to visit again to sample Talisman 2.0!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magic Marcus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Best wings I've ever eaten with a chunky blue cheese dip. Feta samosas are a much copied classic, but none do them as well. Porcini tartlets are sublime. I rarely make it to the main course, having been stuffed on starters. But when I do, the beef karai or hamburger is the way to my heart.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks so much! We're very proud of Marcus and can't wait to see what he has up his sleeves for 2013. Glad to have you back any time--cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.