We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserved reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Nairobi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Deserved reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Far and away the best dining experience in Nairobi; if not Kenya. Frequented by a mix of resident KCs, tourists and UN types Talisman exceeds in style and content. Extremely helpful staff led by an inventive and immensely capable head chef. Recommended to anyone visiting Nairobi!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We're very proud of our "inventive and immensely capable" Chef Marcus and our service team. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    154
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been resident in Karen Nairobi for two months and just came back from our first evening out with our seven year old son - the food was outstanding, the service outstanding - the waiter gave us the specials and left us to persuse for the right amouont of time - good amount of time betweene each course......we told them we wanted a non smoikking table and we had a 7 year old with us and they had already reserved a cost table by the fire for us to keep our little boy warm........not too much waiter intrusion - perfect - what more can I say - will be going again as soon as we can.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Welcome to Karen! We're so glad to have you in the community and welcome you back any time. So glad you enjoyed both our menu and our service. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
“Perfect Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved our experience at the Talisman Restaurant. The food, atmosphere, decor, ambiance..everything was perfect!! Meals were very well portioned and very fairly priced!! Christine was most gracious and a true professional!! A must have experience when you come to Kenya.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
It was a joy to have you here, Mahmood! So glad you enjoyed your meal with us, and I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Christine. She's a gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and great environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

There is art for sale - sometimes excellent - a bar which is comfortable and cosy - lots of outside for sunny lunches and cosy evenings with a fire and lots of places to hide a party. They also make the best cheeze samoozas and the best crunchy sushi. And you are likely to bump into friends there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks a lot for the recommendation! We're proud of our ambiance and are always happy to see friends bumping into each other and enjoying what Talisman has to offer. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a detour !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Last week we visited the Talisman Restaurant twice whilst staying in the Karen district in Nairobi. What to say, excellent food in a nice atmosphere. Absolutely worth a detour. We are looking forward visiting again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. We're delighted you recommend a detour to get to Talisman, and we hope you'll be back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.