We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
P.O. Box 834 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Recently reopened after extensive renovations, the Talisman is located in Karen just on the outskirts of Nairobi in an old colonial building among lush beautiful gardens. Relax either indoors or outdoors or outdoors on our beautiful patio. Chef Marcus Mitchell, who has trained in France and Spain, brings his own unique touch to each dish and has gained acclaim for his fabulous continental and fusion menu. Talisman's service team is also renowned for its hospitality.
Macclesfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been resident in Karen Nairobi for two months and just came back from our first evening out with our seven year old son - the food was outstanding, the service outstanding - the waiter gave us the specials and left us to persuse for the right amouont of time - good amount of time betweene each course......we told them we wanted a non smoikking table and we had a 7 year old with us and they had already reserved a cost table by the fire for us to keep our little boy warm........not too much waiter intrusion - perfect - what more can I say - will be going again as soon as we can.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Welcome to Karen! We're so glad to have you in the community and welcome you back any time. So glad you enjoyed both our menu and our service. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    236
    110
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
“Perfect Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved our experience at the Talisman Restaurant. The food, atmosphere, decor, ambiance..everything was perfect!! Meals were very well portioned and very fairly priced!! Christine was most gracious and a true professional!! A must have experience when you come to Kenya.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
It was a joy to have you here, Mahmood! So glad you enjoyed your meal with us, and I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Christine. She's a gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

There is art for sale - sometimes excellent - a bar which is comfortable and cosy - lots of outside for sunny lunches and cosy evenings with a fire and lots of places to hide a party. They also make the best cheeze samoozas and the best crunchy sushi. And you are likely to bump into friends there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks a lot for the recommendation! We're proud of our ambiance and are always happy to see friends bumping into each other and enjoying what Talisman has to offer. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a detour !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Last week we visited the Talisman Restaurant twice whilst staying in the Karen district in Nairobi. What to say, excellent food in a nice atmosphere. Absolutely worth a detour. We are looking forward visiting again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. We're delighted you recommend a detour to get to Talisman, and we hope you'll be back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“African jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I sat outside with a couple of friends and we had lunch. The waiter, I think his name was Stephen, did a great job and was very attentive as he made sure we were comfortable. I had the Poached Norwegian Salmon, which was really nice and the Passion Mojitos there are divine! Please try one and see for yourself. The setting in Karen's green leafy suburbs makes the outdoor dining experience worthwhile. Overall I loved the place and food. Thanks guys, will definitely be visiting again since I live 15min away :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed the garden and the food and look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.