We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children not welcome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
320 Ngong Road | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Featuring carved wooden pillars from Pakistan, elegant Afghan rugs, charming fireplaces, sprawling terraces and idyllic gardens, The Talisman blends fine dining with unbridled eclecticism. We have made every effort to create the ideal ambience for those seeking a candle-lit romantic dinner, a casual evening drink with friends, an outdoor lunch with family and everything in between ~ And all this is complemented by distinguished service from our cordial staff.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Children not welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Parents take note - children ARE NOT WELCOME at this establishment.

Front desk will not tell you this of course and will be happy to sell you a full priced (overpriced) meal. But the owner/chef will make your children feel very unwelcome in HIS restaurant.

Stay well clear - there are many other nice places to eat with kids in Karen these days.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Talisman has always welcomed families and is an ideal setting for children during daytime meals. However, it is important to note that it is illegal in Kenya for children to be in our bar area. When our staff find children running around, they do have to politely request that parents take their children out to the main dining area. When a polite request isn't heeded, sometimes a firmer nudge is required. We are more than happy to have well-behaved, well-supervised children enjoy our restaurant, but we simply have to be firm when it comes to children in the bar area. We apologize if you were offended by the request to remove your children, but it's the law. You'll be more than welcome to come back during kid-friendly hours and enjoy all that Talisman has to offer little ones (like a great playground and patio).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    155
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Talisman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I always love to eat here, the food is outstanding and always something new and different. A great place to enjoy going with special people. A wonderful place to be

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks, Iris! We're glad to know Talisman is tops on your list, and we hope to see you again soon when you're in Nairobi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you go to Nairobi, you must visit Talisman. The plates are of high quality and strike a tasty balance between classical and innovative. The lush vegetation in the courtyard provide shade and along with the meal most of your senses should be tingled. Lastly, do not miss their puddings which by full live up to their starters and mains. Even something as simple as a 'Sunday' is made an extraordinary experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much, Ida, for taking the time to tell us what made your Talisman experience such a special one! We're delighted you enjoyed the garden ambiance and especially our menu. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It is a cozy restaurant in Karen. Food is great and service is fast and efficient. Sat outside under the trees and the ambience was good

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks so much, Christine! We're so glad you enjoyed our beautiful garden and the service. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When I was last in Nairobi I visited the Talisman on many occasions and I would highly recomend it not only for the varied and delicious food but the ambiance and friendliness of the staff.
Marianne and John Wilkinson

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks so much, Marianne! We're delighted you've enjoyed our atmosphere and friendly staff and look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.