We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talisman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
P.O. Box 834 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Recently reopened after extensive renovations, the Talisman is located in Karen just on the outskirts of Nairobi in an old colonial building among lush beautiful gardens. Relax either indoors or outdoors or outdoors on our beautiful patio. Chef Marcus Mitchell, who has trained in France and Spain, brings his own unique touch to each dish and has gained acclaim for his fabulous continental and fusion menu. Talisman's service team is also renowned for its hospitality.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Talisman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I always love to eat here, the food is outstanding and always something new and different. A great place to enjoy going with special people. A wonderful place to be

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks, Iris! We're glad to know Talisman is tops on your list, and we hope to see you again soon when you're in Nairobi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    123
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you go to Nairobi, you must visit Talisman. The plates are of high quality and strike a tasty balance between classical and innovative. The lush vegetation in the courtyard provide shade and along with the meal most of your senses should be tingled. Lastly, do not miss their puddings which by full live up to their starters and mains. Even something as simple as a 'Sunday' is made an extraordinary experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much, Ida, for taking the time to tell us what made your Talisman experience such a special one! We're delighted you enjoyed the garden ambiance and especially our menu. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It is a cozy restaurant in Karen. Food is great and service is fast and efficient. Sat outside under the trees and the ambience was good

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks so much, Christine! We're so glad you enjoyed our beautiful garden and the service. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When I was last in Nairobi I visited the Talisman on many occasions and I would highly recomend it not only for the varied and delicious food but the ambiance and friendliness of the staff.
Marianne and John Wilkinson

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks so much, Marianne! We're delighted you've enjoyed our atmosphere and friendly staff and look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK Exerperience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was excited to go to Talisman based on all the reviews. I was impressed by the table selected for us by the fire and the welcome we received when we arrived.

Folks had mentioned it was a good family restaurant so I was expecting a high chair for our 11 month old baby but that was not available. I did see the playground they had which would be a big plus for older kids.

Decent wine list for Nairobi and pleased with the selection by the glass. The ambiance is lovely and would recommend a lunch or brunch visit to enjoy during the day.

I truly enjoyed my ostrich pate and 4 forest mushroom Gnocchi. Very flavorful and satisfying.

My Fiance did enjoy his salmon appetizer however he was NOT impressed with his grilled local his fish and had to ask to have it cooked more. If someone was not pleased with their dish and had to send it back for further cooking, typically you are not charged or offered something else. This was not the case here so I feel that they could have handled the situation with better finesse and concern. This was the issue of the inexperienced server we had. He was a nice young man but not experienced.

Overall I would say this is a nice place but for the money and the very expensive cab ride from the city center (be sure to ask on the price before you go) I was expecting more. The experience could have been improved with a more knowledgeable and professional wait person.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We're sorry about the undercooked fish. Any time a dish is not up to par, we want to do our best to make things right. We do have some new servers on staff who are learning the ropes, so thanks for your patience. We'll work harder to make sure everyone's on the same page when it comes to service. Glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and found a warm welcome. We're very proud of our place and our team and would love to have you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.