We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
P.O. Box 834 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Recently reopened after extensive renovations, the Talisman is located in Karen just on the outskirts of Nairobi in an old colonial building among lush beautiful gardens. Relax either indoors or outdoors or outdoors on our beautiful patio. Chef Marcus Mitchell, who has trained in France and Spain, brings his own unique touch to each dish and has gained acclaim for his fabulous continental and fusion menu. Talisman's service team is also renowned for its hospitality.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have eaten at the Talisman whenever we are in Nairobi (not often enough). The food has always been marvellous and the ambience superb. Would thoroughly recommend the Talisman.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words. We're delighted you've recommended Talisman to friends, and we hope you'll come back in more often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    244
    116
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Work or Play This is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Have visited the Talisman several dozen times, and always found the whole experience amazing.

For Work:

Often during the day when the rigors of the office get a bit much and i look for a nice place to kick up my feet take my laptop and work, away from the hustle and bustle this is the only place, I've tried many places around Nairobi and have found NONE that can compare, the Coffee is better than Dorman's, the cookies and bitings are excellent, as well as the atmosphere not too busy not too quiet, (Not to mention you can actually sit comfortable have a coffee and a cigarette!) Next there is good WI-FI, and all-in-all a whole day of drinking coffee's, breaking for lunch and maybe having a sneaky beer or two after five doesn't break the bank.

For fun:

This place also good, the quite lunch & business bar room fades away into a lively restaurant, The food, has so far, in my experience been excellent every time, although will admit some days to being rather unadventurous and sticking to the burgers that are by far the best in Kenya (if not sub-Saharan Africa), (Chicken wings also rock)

Took a girl on a first date here and was treated like royalty, best service, wine, ambiance I've been treated to in Kenya, and it wasn't lost on my date either.

Last but not least, Friday Nights! I am on the firm belief there is no where else to go, I've tried all of the others around town and have rarely had a good time.

At Talisman on the other hand even at it's most crowded it's still possible to get a drink within 5 mins, You are able to either sit by the fire and have a nice discussion with friends without the need to shout, or on the occasional band night, watch some really good old school tunes. The only down side to Talisman on a Friday night is that the Dance floor... well there isn't one... but that rarely has stopped the usual patrons.

Anyway to citizens of Nairobi, or Tourists traveling through I would firmly recommend this place above anywhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks, Joseph! We really appreciate our "regulars" at Talisman--you make it even more rewarding to work here and do our job well. Come back any time for work or play!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“too much for too little”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I loved the creative menu but feel it is not good value for money. The atmosphere is terrific and the chef is great fun. But its too pricy for what ones gets.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We appreciate all feedback but admit this one was a bit of a surprise, as the most common "complaint" about our portions is that they are too large. We use only the freshest and best ingredients available--no frozen veg or second-rate meat. We're proud sponsors and patrons of the Organic Farmers Market and use their greens for our salads. Yes, quality costs more, but we feel it's worth it for our customers. Cutting costs would mean using inferior ingredients, and we just won't go there. We'll work to achieve a balance between good value and best quality, though, and we hope you'll come back and try us out again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The gem of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

When you step into talisman you find yourself surrounded with the most amazing atmosphere. The food, service and management is something hard to find anywhere, let alone in Nairobi. Keep up the good work guys, I can't wait to be there with a cold drink and your amazing creations again! Make this part of your stay in Kenya, if your just on your way through or just want a break from the average. Talisman really is kenyas most unique and amazing dining experience, don't miss out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thanks for this ringing endorsement! We're really proud of our atmosphere, our staff and our delicious food, and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're in town. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Greatest restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great food (even for vegetarians), great service, great prices... And an extra plus for their events like organic farmers market

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments. We are really proud of our association with the Organic Farmers Market and enjoy serving the freshest local produce we can. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.