We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at fair prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman

Talisman
P.O. Box 834 Ngong Road, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
+254 705 999997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Continental, Café, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Recently reopened after extensive renovations, the Talisman is located in Karen just on the outskirts of Nairobi in an old colonial building among lush beautiful gardens. Relax either indoors or outdoors or outdoors on our beautiful patio. Chef Marcus Mitchell, who has trained in France and Spain, brings his own unique touch to each dish and has gained acclaim for his fabulous continental and fusion menu. Talisman's service team is also renowned for its hospitality.
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food at fair prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

A varied menu for lunch and dinner with daily specials including such delights as Belgian mussels, Ostrich and Smoked Salmon. The bread is excellent. The Talian is consistently good and because of this booking is advised.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    129
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Bad service and food was less than average. I had heard lots of good things about it too which made me wonder. The ambiance was a bit tacky I felt.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCKenya, Public Relations Manager at Talisman, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We're so sorry your experience didn't match your expectations. We'd love to change your opinion, so if you're still in town, please stop back by for a free drink and a starter. We also always appreciate feedback so we can make our service even better. If you've got any suggestions, feel free to send us a message through our Facebook page or give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great starters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The samosas are to die for... and also the pork belly - excellent.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“An excellent outdoor restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I make a point of going to this restauarnt on every visit to Nairobi. I have lost count of the number of times I have been. The food is excellent and its outdoor setting is wonderful.

Forturnetly it has not be discovred by too many tour groups........... ...yet. Shhh don't tell them.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fridays the KCs come out to play, but the food makes it a good show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a garden restaurant with a well thought out menu, some absolute winners are the feta and coriander samosas, the chicken wings and the Knickerbocker Glory.

The art gallery and farm house decor lend a sense of something special to the restaurant, as did eating on the verandah during a classic Nairobi downpour.

On the Friday we were there, there was a live band and the KCs (Kenyan Cowboys) made good use of the dance floor. A good night out in Nairobi and a chance to observe the indigenous wild life.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talisman also viewed

 

Been to Talisman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.