We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of China

Taste of China
Woodvale Lane | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 720 222211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent food. The service is excellent. Try their Chinese Nachos and their fried babycorn...also their Veggie Spring rolls are excellent...The views of Nairobi from their balcony are fantastic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Oily and spicy with very little flavour. No ambience as such to speak of. Good service. The place appears to be quite busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Doesn't taste Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Was extremely disappointed with the food. Everything tasted like an Indian savory called pakora in some kind of chilli sauce. The place was busy though so I guess they have their fans. Wasn't for me though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Taste of China- Unauthentic Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I've been here twice, along with other people. The food they serve is more like modified Chinese food as it is in many Chinese restaurants. The food is usually quite oily and spicier than it needs to be (not that I don't like spicy but not how its supposed to be). I'm very choosy with Chinese restaurants as I've experience some very good and authentic Chinese food in China. The food here is Chinese by name and dish but not actually by how its made. To be honest, the food tastes nice, not that I have any problem that the food tastes bad, just not very Chinese.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We usually order take out. The have a really cool website for placing orders. The portions are good and the food is good. I hear their new location is very good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of China also viewed

 

Been to Taste of China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.