We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of China

Taste of China
6th floor VIP Plaza, Westlands road, | Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 720 222211
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Exellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I love their service, quick and courteous . Their food is also consistent and the ambience amazing.
A good experience !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This restaurant is definitely worth checking out. My friends and I went here for late lunch on Friday. The service was prompt and very attentive, the portions generous and yummy. There are very few restaurants in Nairobi give you value for money, but this one certainly nailed it. The only downside is that the restaurant closes at 3 pm at lunch so we could't really linger as you get the feeling from the staff that you must be gone by 3 pm and not a minute later. This can really put a damper on the experience. Perhaps next time I will try for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“THE WORST EXPERIENCE IN ANY RESTAURANT EVER!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I went on a Friday for a late lunch with my friend. We got there and ordered at 2:40pm. Nobody told us that the kitchen (and restaurant) closes at 3pm. Our food came at 3:05 pm and in 5 minutes, the boss of the restaurant (this other asian indian lady) came and asked us to leave as she had to go pick her son from school. we were SHOCKED!!! We requested her to let us be coz we had just got there, but she could not be botheres and only apologised but stood her ground. She said she sent the manager off at 3pm. That was disgusting. That is when our food came. We didnt have time to enjoy our food and had to get it packed. We kept telling her we were so upset as her waiters had not told us about the time Kitchen closes and it was her staffs fault. She was not bothered and had an "I DONT CARE" attitude since she thought the apology was good enough. To make it worse, she only gave us 10% discount to "make-up" for the staffs incompetent behaviour....she really did not care. The food was good but the atmosphere and all sux in there....Absolutely NOT worth it!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A gastronomical treat that must be enjoyed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Mainly had takeaways from here and the management was so helpful in accommodating our child's special dietary requirements.

Every dish we ordered was delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food (Indian Style)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ok, lets admit that Chinese restaurants owned by Indians do not serve authentic Chinese food and with Chinese food I mean dogs, snakes, eels etc (with due respect). However this place is one of the best chinese cuisine restaurants that serve the best Indian style Chinese.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of China also viewed

 

Been to Taste of China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.